New Property.....electric To The Back? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2013, 04:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New property.....electric to the back?


The wife and I are about to buy 10 acres which will require getting electricity from the front of the property to the back.

I am looking for ideas for best way to accomplish this, as I would like to have power (100 amp service for RV plus work area/shop) about 750 feet toward the back of the property. I will pay to have the meter and panel installed at the front.....then take it from there.

Above ground or below....if I am doing it myself? I will check price to just have the power run back there initially.....but then would want to have electric up front as well.

More information.....I am in Texas....Leon County is location of property. Any help is appreciated....

Advertisement

rebelliondog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 04:57 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,164
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

New property.....electric to the back?


Put the service in the middle, 750' is way to long for secondary conductors....

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 04:59 PM   #3
Special User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Idaho, US
Posts: 617
Rewards Points: 632
Default

New property.....electric to the back?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rebelliondog View Post
about 750 feet toward the back of the property. I will pay to have the meter and panel installed at the front.....
I'm no expert, but a back-of-the-envelope calculation says that a 200A service that's 750 feet long will experience considerable voltage drop which will require rather fat (and therefore very expensive) cables. I'm guessing it will be far cheaper to have the POCO run high voltage to the back of your property and install a transformer there to step down to 240V near your home, then run a small branch circuit to the front of the property.
__________________
The above post is for entertainment purposes only. Its contents may, and probably will, lead to legal liability and damage or loss of property, life, or limb. Use at your own risk.
tylernt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 05:45 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New property.....electric to the back?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Put the service in the middle, 750' is way to long for secondary conductors....
Was thinking the same....so, service in the middle. I should not have any worries with running the 300' or so either direction myself then?

Thanks for the quick replies....
rebelliondog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 05:46 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,164
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

New property.....electric to the back?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rebelliondog View Post
Was thinking the same....so, service in the middle. I should not have any worries with running the 300' or so either direction myself then?

Thanks for the quick replies....
300' is still pretty long, but a lot less cheaper than going the whole 750'. The utilities around here will only go 150' secondaries when they are responsible.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 06:57 PM   #6
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,572
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

New property.....electric to the back?


Southwire's calculator says that for 3% voltage drop on a 350' run with 100A load, you would need 750kcmil aluminum or 400kcmil copper conductors. That's huge. You really may want to look into having two services, with the POCO running primary in between.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (05-14-2013)
Old 05-13-2013, 06:58 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,164
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

New property.....electric to the back?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
Southwire's calculator says that for 3% voltage drop on a 350' run with 100A load, you would need 750kcmil aluminum or 400kcmil copper conductors. That's huge. You really may want to look into having two services, with the POCO running primary in between.
Without any ACTUAL load specs, i'd say he is fine, most people couldn't afford a 100 amp electric bill.... i'm willing to bet 250's AL. would suffice, of course, this is speaking blindly without load specs, but if we are talking the average house... i'd say i'm pretty close.


Of course, two services is the best solution if at all possible.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 05-13-2013 at 07:02 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 07:01 PM   #8
Special User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Idaho, US
Posts: 617
Rewards Points: 632
Default

New property.....electric to the back?


How much power (amps) do you need at the front of the property? Or, what do you need to power there? Light, welder, etc?
__________________
The above post is for entertainment purposes only. Its contents may, and probably will, lead to legal liability and damage or loss of property, life, or limb. Use at your own risk.
tylernt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 08:26 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default

New property.....electric to the back?


call the POCO they will help you engineer this.
usair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 07:09 AM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

New property.....electric to the back?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
Southwire's calculator says that for 3% voltage drop on a 350' run with 100A load, you would need 750kcmil aluminum or 400kcmil copper conductors. That's huge. You really may want to look into having two services, with the POCO running primary in between.
I use that one too ... for calulations .. but i got >>>


1 conductors per phase utilizing a #750 Aluminum conductor will limit the voltage drop to 2.95% or less when supplying 100.0 amps for 750 feet on a 240 volt system.

or >>>


1 conductors per phase utilizing a #400 Copper conductor will limit the voltage drop to 2.95% or less when supplying 100.0 amps for 750 feet on a 240 volt system.
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 02:25 PM   #11
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,572
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

New property.....electric to the back?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
I use that one too ... for calulations .. but i got >>>


1 conductors per phase utilizing a #750 Aluminum conductor will limit the voltage drop to 2.95% or less when supplying 100.0 amps for 750 feet on a 240 volt system.

or >>>


1 conductors per phase utilizing a #400 Copper conductor will limit the voltage drop to 2.95% or less when supplying 100.0 amps for 750 feet on a 240 volt system.
That's because you used 240V. It's actually two 120V runs! If you do the calc using 240V, then the voltage drop observed on the 120V loads can be up to 6% if the load is not symmetrical between the hot legs.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 02:29 PM   #12
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,572
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

New property.....electric to the back?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Without any ACTUAL load specs, i'd say he is fine, most people couldn't afford a 100 amp electric bill.... i'm willing to bet 250's AL. would suffice, of course, this is speaking blindly without load specs, but if we are talking the average house... i'd say i'm pretty close.


Of course, two services is the best solution if at all possible.
The average load is certainly much less than 100A. But it's the peak load that matters for voltage drop calculations. What happens when the AC starts up? Do the lights blink and the computers reboot?
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 05:32 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

New property.....electric to the back?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
Southwire's calculator says that for 3% voltage drop on a 350' run with 100A load, you would need 750kcmil aluminum or 400kcmil copper conductors. That's huge. You really may want to look into having two services, with the POCO running primary in between.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
That's because you used 240V. It's actually two 120V runs! If you do the calc using 240V, then the voltage drop observed on the 120V loads can be up to 6% if the load is not symmetrical between the hot legs.
My answer is correct .... and it is the SAME. 120v or 240 volts ..

next you used 350' and the OP stated 750' ..

750kcmil aluminum or 400kcmil copper conductors, 120v or 240v, 350' or 750 '

but the answer is still the same any way you slice it ..
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 07:26 PM   #14
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,164
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

New property.....electric to the back?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
The average load is certainly much less than 100A. But it's the peak load that matters for voltage drop calculations. What happens when the AC starts up? Do the lights blink and the computers reboot?
My lights blink when my ac starts up and i'm pretty close to the transformer, you cannot avoid undersized transformers, the utility rolls that way.

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with 220 electric range hook up titan7 Electrical 8 04-30-2011 08:39 PM
90 amp electric car charger! The future... Billy_Bob Electrical 16 02-16-2010 03:01 PM
Severe Drainage Issue kirridam Landscaping & Lawn Care 11 07-25-2009 07:44 AM
How do you reseat or put an over door back on??? wvoldwoman Appliances 3 04-19-2009 03:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts