New Pool Pump Trips Breaker?! New Home Owner Needs Advice. - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2008, 10:17 PM   #16
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,414
Rewards Points: 2,490
Default

New pool pump trips breaker?! New home owner needs advice.


If it is the only thing on the circuit, the 15amp would be safe. Since it is tripping the breaker, then the breaker is working correctly because of the circuit overload caused by the pump not spinning. If the breaker was defective, plugging in the Hair Dryer would of been enough to trip it. I would personally call a pool guy other then the company that installed it, and have their opinion. If they say that the pump is defective, call the other company and have it replaced at their cost.

Only other way to tell if it spins, is unhook the hoses, and pull the strainer basket to see if the impeller spins at all.

Advertisement

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 11:35 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New pool pump trips breaker?! New home owner needs advice.


Thanks for the reply. I feel better knowing that it is most likely not the electrical that is the problem.
KenR7A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 12:03 AM   #18
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,633
Rewards Points: 1,060
Default

New pool pump trips breaker?! New home owner needs advice.


A couple of things come to mind here.

1) How far is the pump from the main house panel? If it's less than 100 feet, and the hair dryer ran at about the same speed it does in the house, then very likely the pump is getting enough power. A 15 amp breaker is a bit light for a 1HP motor, a 20 would be better. If the 15 holds for more than 5 seconds, then it's OK as is.

2) The shaft is bound up. This can be a number of things, not the smallest of which is running the pump without any water in it and seizing the shaft seal. It usually takes less than 5 seconds. There could be a foreign object in the impeller, or the motor. This might void the warranty, but if you can take the end cap of the motor off (likely a couple of screws in the end) you'll see the end of the shaft inside. It should turn easily.

3) It could be wired wrong. The wiring connections are likely inside the end cap of the motor. The black wire from the cord needs to go to terminal #1, along with a yellow wire with a black stripe that disappears into the motor. Terminal #4 needs to have a red wire that disappears into the motor on it, nothing else. If the only switch in this installation is the one on the 4X4 post, and the one shown on the nameplate doesn't exist (it would if this were a hot tub), we'll wire it like it's always on. The blue and yellow wires need to go to terminal #5. Insure that the solid yellow is on terminal #5, and the yellow with a black stripe is on terminal #1. The white wire from the cord goes to terminal #6 along with a white wire that disappears into the motor. The green wire from the cord goes to a green screw somewhere on the motor frame. Look around inside for loose wires, and look at the terminal strip, it could be cracked.

4) If all the above are OK, about the only other things I can think of are a bad start capacitor, a bad start switch (inside of the motor), or shorted windings, all of which should be covered under warranty.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 08:47 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New pool pump trips breaker?! New home owner needs advice.


The pump is run off approx 30-35 feet of wire. Definitely less than 100 feet. Way less. The hair dryer worked fine. I had it on the fastest speed and the hottest temperature. It sounded like it was running at full blast for a good minute.

I am going to have the pump looked at again by these guys. I really think it was just not installed correctly.

I did check out the wiring and it looks like it was all factory installed. The screws holding the end cap on looked like they were never touched. I still have yet to verify if the shaft spins freely. I will try to figure that out later.

For what its worth, I had a dream that the pump and everything was working and my pool water was crystal clear. I hope that is sign of things to come.
KenR7A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 04:21 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New pool pump trips breaker?! New home owner needs advice.


Just because it is new from the factory does not mean it can not be defective.
BillyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 08:49 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New pool pump trips breaker?! New home owner needs advice.


Hey guys, I found out what the problem is. Its the pump. When the strainer basket is full of water, it weighs down the shaft and impeller. This added weight does not allow it to turn freely. If you hold up the strainer, and flick the switch, the pump starts up just fine.

The contractor is going to buy a new pump and install it tomorrow!
KenR7A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 09:47 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New pool pump trips breaker?! New home owner needs advice.


the pool people had to install 3 diff haywood pumps for my new aboveground pool before they got one that would not bind (motor binds & will not start) this was in 1st 3 weeks after installation. the flow max pump lasted 3 years of use. then it started tripping gfci. pool co came out & said motor needed to be replaced, they put new flow max & w/in day it started tripping gfci again. no certain time it trips gfci, sometimes immediately after start up or after it goes off i can see that gfci was tripped. pump hardwired into freeze protect timer. sometimes it trips at start up. I feel pretty certain that its the new pump causing prob. gfci didnt trip w/ hairdryer plugged in or string of light plugged in.
sound like its the new pump causing the proB?

the filter has been worked on 4x, inline chlorinator broke after 2 yrs of use,now have had to replace pool pump all after only 3 summer seasons of use,the pressure guage on filter seems to be broken now (after he installed new pump) pool not worth the trouple or expense
parm54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 10:42 AM   #23
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,231
Rewards Points: 2,372
Default

New pool pump trips breaker?! New home owner needs advice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by parm54 View Post
the pool people had to install 3 diff haywood pumps for my new aboveground pool before they got one that would not bind (motor binds & will not start) this was in 1st 3 weeks after installation. the flow max pump lasted 3 years of use. then it started tripping gfci. pool co came out & said motor needed to be replaced, they put new flow max & w/in day it started tripping gfci again. no certain time it trips gfci, sometimes immediately after start up or after it goes off i can see that gfci was tripped. pump hardwired into freeze protect timer. sometimes it trips at start up. I feel pretty certain that its the new pump causing prob. gfci didnt trip w/ hairdryer plugged in or string of light plugged in.
sound like its the new pump causing the proB?

the filter has been worked on 4x, inline chlorinator broke after 2 yrs of use,now have had to replace pool pump all after only 3 summer seasons of use,the pressure guage on filter seems to be broken now (after he installed new pump) pool not worth the trouple or expense
You are posting on a thread that is 2 1/2 years old. Suggest you start a new thread.

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice on remodeling/renovating a prefab (mobile) home countrylifemom Remodeling 50 08-09-2014 07:56 AM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 06:55 AM
Urgent advice needed on sagging roof for home I'm buying jwoair23 Roofing/Siding 6 02-20-2007 12:17 PM
new home owner awider Introductions 7 09-23-2006 07:38 PM
GFI Breaker & pool pump mitchman333 Electrical 7 05-08-2006 06:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts