Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-16-2007, 10:04 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO.
Posts: 23
Share |
Default

New Phone Jack Install - Q & A 101


Hello Everyone,

I'll try to make this short. I had ATT come out long time ago and install a phone jack for Sattelite TV. I bought a computer and wanted internet. So I looked to see what ATT did. I followed that and installed another phone jack in the room for the computer and internet. I bought the phone jack and hooked the red to the "R" and the green to the "G". The black and yellow are not hooked up. Ran the phone line and hooked the white wire to the "G" and the blue to the "R". Have dial tone and internet. GOOD!

I bought another computer and want to get a phone in that room. So I did the same thing as the other room. I can't get a dial tone. I'm not trying to get another phone line. Just want another phone hooked up.

The phone line comes into the basement to a distrubution block that is about 2" x 3". It has 6 rows of 8, of what I call "bird beaks". I hooked the white wire in the same row as the last one I did and the blue wire to the same row as the last. Still no dial tone. So I moved the blue and white wires down a few rows but kept the same placement as before but still no dial tone.

What have I done wrong? Is there some place I can go to get the color code or the secrets that ATT won't tell anyone.

Thanks for all the help!

Allen

allen1466 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 03:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

New Phone Jack Install - Q & A 101


Did you use good quailty phone lines for your new lines... I had bad experience with poor quailty wires belfore.... you can try to use different set of new lines to see if it fixes the problem, as each phone lines normally got 4 wires and you only need to use 2 out of the 4.

KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 05:24 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,461
Default

New Phone Jack Install - Q & A 101


Those bird beaks as you call them may not be interconnected. Sometimes they are in groups of 5 then an open space and another group of 5.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 08:54 PM   #4
Remodeler
 
MinConst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spring Hill FL.
Posts: 436
Default

New Phone Jack Install - Q & A 101


Your bird beaks are a punch down block. You can simplify this by connecting the wires that you first used for your 1st computer to a phone junction box. And then use that for future connections. Punch down blocks can get confusing.
__________________
Minichillo's Construction
I will never leave you hanging!
Web
One Man Shops
MinConst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 09:35 PM   #5
Mechanical Contractor
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 115
Default

New Phone Jack Install - Q & A 101


If the "bird beak" block you are talking about is a "66" block that has several rows of connectors horizontally and vertically, there needs to be an interconnecting wire in the vertical direction to jump the connection over, the internal connections are just horizontal in individual rows

Radioshack has a small book on installing phones that is illustrated, it's pretty cheap and will be like gold to a novice
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 06:05 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO.
Posts: 23
Default

New Phone Jack Install - Q & A 101


Hello Everyone,

Thanks for all the information. I will head to Radio Shack and see if they have that book on installing phones.

Thanks to everyone!

Allen
allen1466 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 09:16 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,029
Default

New Phone Jack Install - Q & A 101


The easy way to interconnect on a wiring block, is to use a jumper from one line (one row is a line), and connect to another row. This will help http://www.homephonewiring.com/blocks.html http://www.homephonewiring.com/add-line3.html As for Ratshack, they do not carry the "old school" books like they used to, and the books only explain simplified wiring.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 11:46 PM   #8
retired
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Idaho
Posts: 108
Default

New Phone Jack Install - Q & A 101


According to a phone guy a few years ago you don't need to worry about keeping the colors of the wires consistent. That was the case years ago, but not any more. Red & green can be swapped back & forth.

dmaceld is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to install a water pressure regulator Doug Crf Plumbing 2 06-20-2009 01:23 PM
Phone/Fax Wall Jack cmgith Electrical 5 04-18-2009 11:21 PM
Repairing Bad Crown Moulding Install jirishboy Carpentry 10 10-02-2008 09:05 PM
Need to Jack up part of my house.... harleysilo Remodeling 24 10-01-2006 08:05 AM
Installation of new phone jack alvanos Electrical 4 04-05-2006 06:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.