Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-10-2014, 09:50 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 170
Share |
Default

New Panel Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
100 amps to a greenhouse? A grow house?
I expect these types of questions to become more popular in the near future (CO/WA states)...
"...My plants require X number of grow lights on for X number of hours. Would they be considered a continous or non-continous load?"

petey_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 11:29 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Western Washington, U.S.A.
Posts: 168
Default

New Panel Installation


I don't know about CO laws, but in WA a grow that would require 100 amps of power would be far too big for a legal 15 plant medical grow. That makes it sound like you grow is either commercial or illegal.
If it's commercial then there are other requirements and you really should hire the job out.
If it's illegal then you should hire it out anyway cuz the firefighters will call the cops when they have to respond to your grow house fire caused by inadequate wiring.
Seriously, your questions make it sound like you are in a little over your head. If this is a grow then it really isn't a good place to learn as you go. Ask any firefighter why.
dftc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 12:41 AM   #18
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,813
Default

New Panel Installation


Job security............
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 02:05 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
Default

New Panel Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by dftc View Post
I don't know about CO laws, but in WA a grow that would require 100 amps of power would be far too big for a legal 15 plant medical grow. That makes it sound like you grow is either commercial or illegal.
If it's commercial then there are other requirements and you really should hire the job out.
If it's illegal then you should hire it out anyway cuz the firefighters will call the cops when they have to respond to your grow house fire caused by inadequate wiring.
Seriously, your questions make it sound like you are in a little over your head. If this is a grow then it really isn't a good place to learn as you go. Ask any firefighter why.
I have a license to grow 100 plants and hiring it out isn't really financially in the picture... could you tell me what potential could cause a fire if im oversizing wire for the panel?
bobbygravelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 07:46 AM   #20
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

New Panel Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbygravelle View Post
It says that #2 aluminum wire is rated at 90 amps, and I want a 100 amp panel, will I run into problems?
See NEC Table 310.15 (B)(7)

look about halfway down on the left column, no you will not ..if it is "residential" LOL
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Digest-176-NEC-Tables.pdf (29.7 KB, 13 views)
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 07:56 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 448
Default

New Panel Installation


Why wouldn't you just feed the greenhouse off the main panel instead of a subpanel. Not that it can't be done legally, but feeding a sub off of another sub seems a little... hack.
IslandGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 12:13 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

New Panel Installation


Have you considered extending your service to the green house?

Or have a new service and meter installed for the greenhouse. This would then give you a separate bill for your commercial growing space.

In either case, you should hire a pro. Good Luck and good fortune.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
plummen (05-11-2014)
Old 05-11-2014, 02:48 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 8
Default

New Panel Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Have you considered extending your service to the green house?

Or have a new service and meter installed for the greenhouse. This would then give you a separate bill for your commercial growing space.

In either case, you should hire a pro. Good Luck and good fortune.
We are going to run the new service straight off of our main panel now, the sub panel was inoperable.

bobbygravelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace junction box w sub panel Warchild Electrical 1 02-25-2014 06:32 PM
Use panel as a junction box? LynnX Electrical 18 01-05-2014 05:56 PM
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 02:09 AM
Garage Sub Panel Questions mscanlon01 Electrical 3 07-20-2011 10:03 AM
Subpanel next to Main panel wired the same in 1990 Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-20-2011 12:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.