Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2007, 09:12 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
Share |
Default

New overhead light fixture


I'm replacing an old light fixture. The old fixture was connected by the ground wire, a white wire, and one black wire. The new fixture, on the other hand, has two black wires, two white wires, and one ground wire. Is it safe to connect both black wires to the one black wire in the ceiling? And do the same with the white wires? I'm afraid this fixture may be too much for the current electrical set-up. Can anyone point me in the correct direction?

k.kuenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 09:21 AM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,529
Default

New overhead light fixture


The new fixture is meant to be connected as you describe.

How much larger and how many more lights are in the new fixture? What else is on the circuit?

HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 09:24 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Default

New overhead light fixture


Does the new fixture have a light and a fan? Or a central light and also a group of accent lights or something?

It sounds like it's set up so that two parts of the fixture can be switched separately. But there should be no problem with hooking all the whites together, all the blacks together, and all the grounds together. Then everything will just turn off and on at the same time. If that's not a problem, then you're fine. Sometimes fixtures like this also have pull chains on the fixture for switching the individual lights or fan, so that if it's all wired to one wall switch, you can still turn off individual parts of the fixture.
NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 09:56 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
Default

New overhead light fixture


I connected it with all blacks together and all whites together. The fixture just has two 60 watt bulbs and is on a circuit with another light fixture (that I'm switching out, next) that currently is only a 75 watt fixture. When I put turned on the switch, not a few moments later the circuit breaker popped. I replaced the two 60 watt bulbs with 40 watt bulbs and everything seems fine.
The electrician who came to our house not too long ago to replace our box indicated those lights are on the same circuit with some outlets. Is there another way to verify? I don't want to overload the circuit....
k.kuenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 09:58 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
Default

New overhead light fixture


oh, and to answer the other question, and it's just two light bulbs, no fan.
k.kuenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 10:07 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Default

New overhead light fixture


I think you have a problem that needs to be addressed. If decreasing the wattage of your fixture by 40 watts (less than half an amp) kept the breaker from tripping, then you're circuit is quite overloaded. The other possibility is that changing the bulbs was unrelated to the tripped breaker, and there's actually a wiring problem with the circuit that is causing it to trip.

You can find the other outlets and fixtures that are on this circuit by turning on the ceiling light. Then flipping off (and then back on) each breaker one by one, until the ceiling light goes off. With that breaker off, go around the house with a tester (or something you can plug into the wall), and see which plugs don't work, and switch on all light fixtures, check the fridge, etc. Write down everything that's on that circuit, and then you'll be able to figure out if the circuit is overloaded. Also look at the breaker handle, to see what amperage that circuit is rated for. (15 or 20).

Last edited by NateHanson; 10-29-2007 at 10:10 AM.
NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 10:46 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
Default

New overhead light fixture


Thank you, Nate! I will definitely go around and see what's connected to that circuit. You've been a great help!
k.kuenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 06:41 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
Default

New overhead light fixture


6 outlets and the two overhead light fixtures are running off of the one circuit. It's on a 15 amp. Is that too much?
k.kuenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 06:56 PM   #9
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,529
Default

New overhead light fixture


Quote:
Originally Posted by k.kuenn View Post
6 outlets and the two overhead light fixtures are running off of the one circuit. It's on a 15 amp. Is that too much?
That depends on what is plugged in to the receptacles.
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 07:40 PM   #10
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

New overhead light fixture


No matter how a well a circuit is configured, there is a woman out there that can overload it.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 08:07 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 35
Default

New overhead light fixture


Hey! I'm a woman! It was funny, though.
Anyways, one lamp, an air freshener, a tv, and DVD player are all that are plugged in. Lights are on, and the circuit hasn't tripped since that first time. If that's not too much, I think we're good to go, then. I appreciate everyone's input.
k.kuenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 08:32 PM   #12
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

New overhead light fixture


Your fine. I'd guess your drawing 2-3 amps, max.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2007, 09:45 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Downeast Maine
Posts: 999
Default

New overhead light fixture


I still wonder why the breaker tripped the first time. :confused:
It certainly wasn't the extra 40 watts of bulb you replaced, since you're no where near the capacity of that circuit breaker.
NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2007, 10:56 PM   #14
4th Year Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Coquitlam BC, Canada
Posts: 27
Default

New overhead light fixture


SIMPLE PUT IN SOME CFL OR LED LIGHTS.... lighten up the load on the circuit.....

CHEAPEST EASIEST WAY

SwiftyMcV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to replace wall mounted light fixture jtm2300 Electrical 4 08-03-2007 09:44 PM
Part of a ceiling fan light fixture needs help...please g5729 Electrical 1 06-17-2007 06:22 AM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM
Changing Light Fixture - Way too many wires and light wont switch off marapapa Electrical 3 01-13-2006 01:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.