Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-29-2012, 08:17 PM   #16
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

New outlets instead of pigtailing


Losing a neutral is much worse than losing a hot...just ask the electronics on the circuit.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 08:19 PM   #17
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,090
Rewards Points: 2
Default

New outlets instead of pigtailing


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Losing a neutral is much worse than losing a hot...just ask the electronics on the circuit.
Not sure i follow? if the circuit is incomplete nothing happens... good or bad.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 08:27 PM   #18
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New outlets instead of pigtailing


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Not sure i follow? if the circuit is incomplete nothing happens... good or bad.
it's all bad if you loose the neutral and suddenly put a whole bunch of sensitive electronics in series with 240 volts.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 08:29 PM   #19
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,090
Rewards Points: 2
Default

New outlets instead of pigtailing


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
it's all bad if you loose the neutral and suddenly put a whole bunch of sensitive electronics in series with 240 volts.
That only happens with a MWBC... I'm still stuck on branch circuits... carry on.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:03 PM   #20
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New outlets instead of pigtailing


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
That only happens with a MWBC... I'm still stuck on branch circuits... carry on.
a mwbc is a branch circuit my arrogant friend. And no nothing will happen if the fault is on a single branch circuit. That doesn't change the fact that it is indeed code in some areas whether you think it's stupid or not.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:08 PM   #21
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,090
Rewards Points: 2
Default

New outlets instead of pigtailing


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
a mwbc is a branch circuit my arrogant friend. And no nothing will happen if the fault is on a single branch circuit. That doesn't change the fact that it is indeed code in some areas whether you think it's stupid or not.
and it's also only a discussion on code, why people need to take it more than that is beyond me, you either agree or disagree, not a big deal.... so chill awhile... learning is something one has to accept as a process. My words are black and white, yet you imply that I'm arrogant.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 06-29-2012 at 09:13 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:20 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 452
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New outlets instead of pigtailing


So with all that being said.. Would you use a regular wire nut on a copper to copper clad connection?
CopperClad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:32 PM   #23
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New outlets instead of pigtailing


Quote:
Originally Posted by CopperClad View Post
So with all that being said.. Would you use a regular wire nut on a copper to copper clad connection?
i'm sure there was a thread on that somewhere here
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to andrew79 For This Useful Post:
CopperClad (06-29-2012)
Old 06-29-2012, 09:57 PM   #24
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,090
Rewards Points: 2
Default

New outlets instead of pigtailing


Im sure many to follow also...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:57 PM   #25
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,090
Rewards Points: 2
Default

New outlets instead of pigtailing


Quote:
Originally Posted by CopperClad View Post
So with all that being said.. Would you use a regular wire nut on a copper to copper clad connection?
Absolutely not.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 02:54 PM   #26
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,033
Rewards Points: 6
Default

New outlets instead of pigtailing


Interesting to note, as we spar with each other, the orginal poster has never returned. A troll as I first thought
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 04:45 PM   #27
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New outlets instead of pigtailing


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Interesting to note, as we spar with each other, the orginal poster has never returned. A troll as I first thought
He is likely scratching his head, wondering if anyone actually answered his question.

__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
Gfi outlets keep tripping but not constantly INEEDHELPPLZ1 Electrical 22 09-30-2011 08:28 AM
Grounding outlets... bigdaddyII Electrical 12 08-28-2011 02:22 PM
Supplemental Outlets in 1950's House Perry401 Electrical 2 05-01-2011 08:49 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.