Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-26-2011, 06:45 AM   #1
GBunny
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 35
Share |
Default

New Outlets


Is it safe to put 3 new outlets in the basement and run them off existing wires? Can this be done by an unlicensed contractor and then checked by a licensed electrician? Does the safety authority still have to inspect?

GBunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 08:04 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,322
Default

New Outlets


I can't speak for the Canadien code, but certain circuits are dedicated to rooms like kitchens, bathrooms and laundry areas in the US and cannot serve other areas. Circuits for fixed in place appliances cannot be used either.

You would also need capacity left in the circuit to serve the new loads.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 09:23 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,346
Default

New Outlets


You are limited to 12 outlets(lights, receptacles, fans, etc) per circuit. If the circuit has less then 12 then you can do it.
Can NOT be done by an unlicensed contractor but can be done by homeowner.
Should be inspected but most homeowners would not inspect a small job like this.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
do I need GFI for all kitchen counter outlets DanDaMan Electrical 2 03-06-2011 06:33 AM
bathrooms and outdoor outlets not working maybecalifornia Electrical 1 03-04-2011 06:24 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 08:37 AM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.