Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2011, 07:51 PM   #16
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 127
Share |
Default

New Outlet Open Ground!!!!


It's no different that a regular receptacle, and it's required by code.
hpp58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 09:47 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 73
Default

New Outlet Open Ground!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp58 View Post
It's no different that a regular receptacle, and it's required by code.
My only concerns was the LINE side and LOAD side

LINE side= from panel
LOAD side = to the other outlet.

What If I don't have another outlet??
Audiotekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 10:12 PM   #18
General Contractor
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fairfield, Calif
Posts: 84
Default

New Outlet Open Ground!!!!


If you aren't continuing the circuit/feeding another outlet after the GFCI then you just connect the LINE and you're done, there is no LOAD to connect.

BTW, does sound like previously stated that your junction box isn't carrying a good ground and even a GFCI outlet won't change that.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dsconstructs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 06:37 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 73
Default

New Outlet Open Ground!!!!


I;m thinking the same thing!!! If it didn't work with an iso ground outlet I highly doubt it will work with a GFCI. Would it be the same result with a regular outlet?
Audiotekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 07:06 AM   #20
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,056
Default

New Outlet Open Ground!!!!


It may be different. Isolated ground receptacles require 2 grounding means. You only had one.

The result may be the same if the one end of the cable or the old wiring method is not grounded.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
electures (06-14-2011)
Old 06-14-2011, 07:28 AM   #21
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,513
Default

New Outlet Open Ground!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
The box does not need to be grounded----when the outlet is installed the screw will ground the box.

I try to avoid answering electrical questions---while I have a good working knowledge I live in an area where Romex is not allowed and all wiring is done with conduit (meaning all boxes and conduit are grounded.)

I'll do the best I can. There are a bunch of licensed electricians here--- They must all be out enjoying the weather.---Mike---
The box is required to be grounded.

250.148 Continuity and Attachment of Equipment Grounding Conductors to Boxes. Where circuit conductors are spliced within a box, or terminated on equipment within or supported by a box, any equipment grounding conductor(s) associated with those circuit conductors shall be connected
within the box or to the box with devices suitable for the use in accordance with 250.148(A) through (E).
Exception: The equipment grounding conductor permitted in 250.146(D) shall not be required to be connected to the other equipment grounding conductors or to the box.
(A) Connections. Connections and splices shall be made in accordance with 110.14(B) except that insulation shall not be required.
(B) Grounding Continuity. The arrangement of grounding connections shall be such that the disconnection or the removal of a receptacle, luminaire, or other device fed from the box does not interfere with or interrupt the grounding continuity.
(C) Metal Boxes. A connection shall be made between the one or more equipment grounding conductors and a metal box by means of a grounding screw that shall be used for no other purpose, equipment listed for grounding, or a listed grounding device.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 07:38 AM   #22
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,513
Default

New Outlet Open Ground!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
Note that some armored cables including ordinary BX are not considered good and sufficient grounding conductors. Most qualifying armored flexible cables have a strip or wire for the grounding conductor running inside.



It is not unusual for loose connections to develop between the armored cable, the cable clamp, and/or the junction box at one or more locations, thus giving you an open ground.
This is true for extreme lengths (usually over 100"). All BX (Armored Cable) is a listed grounding means. The aluminum strip inside the cable is not an equipment grounding conductor. It is called a redundant bonding strip and is not to be connected to anything. By making contact with the inside of the armor the entire length of the cable it is part if the grounding path. Some electricians cut it off while outhers (including me) wrap it back around the armor.

This is why it is important that listed connectors and clamps be used.

And the weather here in South Jersey is beautiful today. Thank you very much.

Last edited by electures; 06-14-2011 at 07:41 AM.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
open ground on a GCFI outlet klaus135 Electrical 23 02-12-2011 09:57 PM
Wiring an outlet using both ground screws instead of pig-tailing together. cabber24 Electrical 5 08-26-2010 08:40 AM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
How to mount a outlet on a garden ground? KUIPORNG Landscaping & Lawn Care 3 05-30-2009 06:42 PM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.