New For Old Problem - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2009, 10:05 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new for old problem


hi guys, first time poster, and total novice. i bought a flourecent tube to replace the old light bulb fitting in my garrage. there are two light switches at either end of the garrage. when i took the old light of, there were 2 sets of wires spliced together . the red was connected, the earth was connected together , but the black wires were seperate and at either end of the round bulb mounting. so i put my tube up connected the two earths together the two red together and the two black together bulb comes on fine but both light switches dont work, what am i doing wrong apart from trying to save some money on an electrician. thanks very much for your help and nice to join your forum, joseph.

Advertisement

jothecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 10:51 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,585
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

new for old problem


This a 3 way switch loop if you were able to turn the lights on or off from either switch. Is that correct? Take down the light fixture and take a picture of the wires inside the electrical box. Thats the only way to help you since you say you know nothing about this.

You SHOULD have made a drawing of the connections BEFORE you took them loose. Now, you have created a problem that did not exist.

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 11:37 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new for old problem


yes i have your right. it is a loop and the old normal bulb housing seemed easy to take of. when i took it of i noticed that the two black wires were at both ends of the housing. but i cant remember how it was wired before i took it down. so yes ive messed up. but im only replacing a mormal light bulb fitting for a flourecent tube fitting ! is it realy that technical and difficult to change. it seems so as ive just checked it out and the two blck wires seem to have overheated and left a black mark on the cover of the tube housing ive disconected it all and took out the fuse from the main box to isolate it. missus will be in soon so she will go mad. dont call me stupid as remember your probablies as good at electrical work as i am at making spun suger baskets and cooking for 500 ala carte customers in a fine dining resturaunt. im a fine chef but a novice sparky.! sorry for being such a dim wit.
jothecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 11:47 AM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default

new for old problem


Is this garage a detached garage with wire running underground from inside the house?
__________________
Union County, NJ, Licensed Electrician
Classic Electric, LLC, Rahway, New Jersey
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with fan coil unit/hydronic system. flood1911 HVAC 2 09-05-2008 04:57 PM
2 switches , one light problem pepperthecat Electrical 2 07-08-2008 03:57 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 06:26 PM
Door -Storm Door problem bassman Building & Construction 2 01-17-2007 03:16 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 01:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts