Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2008, 02:30 PM   #1
Electrician
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Prunedale, CA
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New meter panel


I am replacing a 100A meter panel with an overhead feed to a 200A meter panel with an underground feed. Once P.G.&E. swaps over the power I'm going to temp in the existing panel from the new one until we start remodeling and install a 200A sub in the house and run all new circuits. Anyway I mounted the new panel, ran the new P.G.&E. conduit to the pole, drove the ground rod and grounded the panel. The county inspector came out to tag the panel and told me he wouldn't tag it until I installed a 20A GFCI convenience outlet below the panel. Why is this? P.G.&E. doesn't need it. They only need the panel to be grounded before they energize.

tomreva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 03:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New meter panel


I don't know but it would have been easier just to do it than debate it.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 03:21 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Rewards Points: 150
Default

New meter panel


Because you didn't contact the inspection authority prior to your installation for the requirements in your area.
That should have been FIRST on your list.
Just do it.
JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 03:56 PM   #4
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

New meter panel


Some of our county inspectors are wonderful men. Some of them are idiots. I often have conversations with myself weighing the pros and cons of arguement when it comes to the National Electric code and and common sense. 85% of the time I do what the 'spector wants, whether it is right or not.

On the other hand...This very well could be a requirement that the local jurisdiction has to provide temporary power for construction.

Any way you shake it, I'd install that sucker with a smile and an apology.

Andy
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Multiple Sub Panel Installation Handyman2007 Electrical 26 12-31-2007 05:47 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM
meter to service panel mikim Electrical 5 05-04-2007 05:34 AM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.