Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2011, 12:01 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Main Panel Ground Question


Hey Everyone,
I have finished a complete rewire of my place... but before I called for an inspection I had a contractor take a look at my work. Everything looks good except for the way I have the grounding set up.

This first diagram is how I actually have it wired.


And this is a pictures of the actual panel (before I wired it) showing where the main wires would go


After talking with the contractor he stated that my grounding wire needs to be continuous from the wire poured in the foundation, through the main panel, and over to the meter.
He also stated that the ground wire needs to be connected to all the conduit with these:


Furthermore, he said that I need to have an additional grounding rod driven into the ground, and from there run a wire to the main water line then back to the ground wire that is poured into the foundation then back to the meter. Here is a diagram that shows it the best I can.

I believe him on the conduit connections but am not convinced on the continuous wire, or second grounding rod.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.
Also, if a continuous wire is needed... how can you splice #4 AWG copper?

__________________
Mironov Central Home Renovation Blog:
www.mironovcentral.blogspot.com
atmironov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 12:09 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,696
Rewards Points: 2,190
Default

New Main Panel Ground Question


You must have some local amendments. The NEC would only require the UFER ground and the rod electrode would not be needed. The GEC would only need to be continous to the UFER, not to all the electrodes all together.


Some power companies will not allow grounding to take place in the socket.

The connections on the GEC would need to be made in an irreversible manner like a hydraulic crimp or a welded connection like a Cadweld.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 12:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Main Panel Ground Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You must have some local amendments. The NEC would only require the UFER ground and the rod electrode would not be needed. The GEC would only need to be continous to the UFER, not to all the electrodes all together.


Some power companies will not allow grounding to take place in the socket.

The connections on the GEC would need to be made in an irreversible manner like a hydraulic crimp or a welded connection like a Cadweld.
Thanks for the Quick Reply Jim.
I just need to clarify a few things.
UFER = Wire Poured in Foundation?
GEC = Grounding Electrode? - Is this the wire that runs from the panel to the meter?
__________________
Mironov Central Home Renovation Blog:
www.mironovcentral.blogspot.com
atmironov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 12:15 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,894
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

New Main Panel Ground Question


Where is the main disconnect?
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 12:16 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Main Panel Ground Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Where is the main disconnect?
The main disconnect is in the main panel - Shown on the right in my diagram
__________________
Mironov Central Home Renovation Blog:
www.mironovcentral.blogspot.com
atmironov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 12:30 PM   #6
rbj
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Main Panel Ground Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by atmironov View Post
The main disconnect is in the main panel - Shown on the right in my diagram
So the meter does not have a main disconnect at the meter?
rbj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 12:34 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Main Panel Ground Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by rbj View Post
So the meter does not have a main disconnect at the meter?
No, there is no disconnect at the meter... the only way to kill the power there is by physically removing the meter.
__________________
Mironov Central Home Renovation Blog:
www.mironovcentral.blogspot.com
atmironov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 12:41 PM   #8
rbj
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Main Panel Ground Question


The reason I ask is the panel in the pic is an MLO. The UFER GEC must be continuous #4awg to the main disconnect panel grounding terminal bar. The wiring diagram shows the meter by itself and should have a main disconnect combination.

Last edited by rbj; 06-27-2011 at 12:49 PM.
rbj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 12:44 PM   #9
rbj
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Main Panel Ground Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by atmironov View Post
No, there is no disconnect at the meter... the only way to kill the power there is by physically removing the meter.
Pulling a live meter...ouch! I would suggest a main disconnect at the meter. Yer welcome...
rbj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 01:15 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Main Panel Ground Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by rbj View Post
The reason I ask is the panel in the pic is an MLO. The UFER GEC must be continuous #4awg to the main disconnect panel grounding terminal bar. The wiring diagram shows the meter by itself and should have a main disconnect combination.
In case it matters... this is the existing electrical meter with a new main panel.
So since the meter doesn't have a disconnect, and there is a main disconnect on the panel and my UFER is continuous into the grounding terminal bar in the panel... is it wired correctly?

Or are you saying that I need to crimp the two grounds together and run it back to the meter as a "continuous" wire? Regardless if the meter has a disconnect.
__________________
Mironov Central Home Renovation Blog:
www.mironovcentral.blogspot.com
atmironov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 01:19 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

New Main Panel Ground Question


Where is the disconnect for the panel?
Are you installing a backfed breaker?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 01:21 PM   #12
rbj
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Main Panel Ground Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by atmironov View Post
In case it matters... this is the existing electrical meter with a new main panel.
So since the meter doesn't have a disconnect, and there is a main disconnect on the panel and my UFER is continuous into the grounding terminal bar in the panel... is it wired correctly?

Or are you saying that I need to crimp the two grounds together and run it back to the meter as a "continuous" wire? Regardless if the meter has a disconnect.
So there is a main disconnect at the panel shown in the pic now? If so then the cabling from the meter must be conduited to the MLO Where the #4 awg must go continuously to the UFER #4 rebar or Concrete encased electrode #6 or #4 electrode depending on what the service size is.
rbj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 01:32 PM   #13
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,894
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

New Main Panel Ground Question


You must have a disconnect at the meter or at the panel unless you intend to have only six breakers in the panel. Normally there is no grounding conductor fromm the meter to the panel as per most utilities requirement--there are exceptions.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 02:28 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Main Panel Ground Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Where is the disconnect for the panel?
Are you installing a backfed breaker?
See picture below. The disconnect is in the Main Panel (Shown as a red box)


Im not even sure what a backfed breaker is... so no, I'm not using one.
__________________
Mironov Central Home Renovation Blog:
www.mironovcentral.blogspot.com
atmironov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 02:35 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Main Panel Ground Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by rbj View Post
So there is a main disconnect at the panel shown in the pic now? If so then the cabling from the meter must be conduited to the MLO Where the #4 awg must go continuously to the UFER #4 rebar or Concrete encased electrode #6 or #4 electrode depending on what the service size is.
Yes, see picture above. The main disconnect is in the Main Panel.

Sorry for being a little ignorant here but I'm going to break down your statement to make sure im following correct.y

From the Meter run the ground wire (through conduit) to my main panel (MLO)
and continue (without a break in the copper) into the UFER (#4 wire 20' encased in concrete)

Which mean, I need to splice the two ground wires in the panel pictured above?

__________________
Mironov Central Home Renovation Blog:
www.mironovcentral.blogspot.com
atmironov is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to atmironov For This Useful Post:
Schlominator (10-02-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit Panel Question, neutral & ground bars ChrisDIY Electrical 32 02-14-2011 12:01 PM
Subpanel next to Main panel wired the same in 1990 Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-20-2011 12:43 AM
grounding of main panel and sub panel in older house linkysys Electrical 2 10-01-2009 04:34 PM
Quick question: No ground bar in panel? dawho1 Electrical 3 04-06-2008 10:17 AM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.