Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-18-2011, 09:18 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

New Machine At Work


Hello fellow electrians,

I want to install a new multivac machine (food packing machine) at work and it requires 220volts and 94amps. The closest panel to the machine is only 208 volts is that ok to use? And what type of cable can I order for this? Can I order soow in 100amps?

davepower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 10:52 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,502
Default

New Machine At Work


If you are indeed an electrician, why are you posting on this DIY site? From your question it does not sound as if you are an electrician or you are very new to this trade.
Go to www.electriciantalk.com. Here you will get professional answers. This is really not the place for this discussion. Just my opinion.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 10:56 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,074
Default

New Machine At Work


Flexible cable cannot be used as a substitute for building wiring. As an electrician I would think you would know this and the proper materials to use.

Is the machine dual rated for the different voltages?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 11:31 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,686
Default

New Machine At Work


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
If you are indeed an electrician, why are you posting on this DIY site? From your question it does not sound as if you are an electrician or you are very new to this trade.
Go to www.electriciantalk.com. Here you will get professional answers. This is really not the place for this discussion. Just my opinion.
A real electrician would also not quote a machine specs as "220v" either, they would know the proper voltage required. Unless of course it was a European machine not designed for the US.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 07:55 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

New Machine At Work


Is this a rollstock machine?

For the sparky's - this could be a small business owner who wants to do his own install. Although my advice would be to hire it out. Makes insurance more palatable.

Edit: oops...just saw his greeting to "fellow electricians"

Last edited by jlmran; 02-18-2011 at 07:59 PM.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 08:35 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

New Machine At Work


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post

Edit: oops...just saw his greeting to "fellow electricians"
You guys have it all wrong. He said nothing about being an electrician. He said (and I am copying and pasting):

Quote:
Hello fellow electrians,
Now, I must admit I don't know what an electrian is but obviously it isn't anybody that knows much, if anything, about electricity.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 09:05 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

New Machine At Work


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap

You guys have it all wrong. He said nothing about being an electrician. He said (and I am copying and pasting):

Now, I must admit I don't know what an electrian is but obviously it isn't anybody that knows much, if anything, about electricity.
How do you do that? Bifocals?

Last edited by jlmran; 02-18-2011 at 09:08 PM.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 09:35 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,781
Default

New Machine At Work


If the machine instructions or nameplate does not say that the machine can be run on 208 volts (or that it is dual voltage) then the machine probably cannot be.

And the machine instructions will say what the range of circuit amperages will be (recommended amperage and maximum amperage).

You would flame me for being rude and blunt if I simply told you to go hire an electrian or an electrition.
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.

Last edited by AllanJ; 02-18-2011 at 09:41 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 09:48 PM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

New Machine At Work


I would like to have seen a picture of the machine ....

I think an electrian is someone who aides the hiding of elected officials ... like those democrats in Wisconsin.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 09:59 PM   #10
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

New Machine At Work


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
I would like to have seen a picture of the machine ....
Just because you have new contacts, now you want to see a picture
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 10:16 PM   #11
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

New Machine At Work


__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 11:03 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

New Machine At Work


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie
I would like to have seen a picture of the machine ....
.
Something similar to this...guessing from the amperage stated. Multivac company offers a complete line of packaging equipment.

http://www.multivac.com/our-products...moformers.html

jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to fix washing machine front spring rvegab00 Appliances 2 04-11-2012 03:30 AM
handling unsafe work by an electrician wuxingming57 Electrical 1 11-14-2009 07:07 PM
Is it right that an owner must be licensed to perform work joey b Electrical 45 12-16-2008 10:16 AM
Need help with permit/city got a Stop Work Order. amdspitfire General DIY Discussions 39 02-07-2008 02:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.