Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-23-2012, 01:56 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

New Load Center - Your thoughts

Hey folks,

I recently ripped out an old Federal Pacific fire hazard and replaced it with a 200 amp Cutler Hammer load center. Though I am not a licensed electrician, I was trained in the field while in the Navy. Also, my real electrician nephew provided answers as needed (ok - I only asked him two minor questions.

The project from power down to power up took me 7 hrs. The only thing I have to add is a surge protector.

My nephew says it looks great but I would like some unbiased comments on my work. Take a look and tell me what you think.

Regards,
PB
Attached Thumbnails
New Load Center - Your thoughts-new-load-center-k75.jpg  

pbsterling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 02:18 PM   #2

Looks good from what I can see. Nice and neat.

That white wire on the left hand second from the bottom double pole breaker should be marked as a hot.

I don't see your connection to the ground rods in the picture.

Is this a house? Where? I don't see any AFCI breakers. Most AHJ's would likely have you install them if you replace a panel even in an older home.

Hope it helps.

AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 02:37 PM   #3

The ground rod wire is connected to the left bus bar, you can see the ground wire leaving the box at the bottom left.

This is in my house in Norman, OK. I didn't install and AFCI's but I did replace all the bathroom, kitchen and outdoor outlets with GFCI breakers. The original wiring (circa 1970) was a mess - Some of the load distribution still way uneven but I can't rip open the walls just yet to even them out (future project).

What loads would typically require an AFCI breaker?
Old 02-23-2012, 02:48 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by pbsterling View Post