Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-07-2009, 03:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Arlington, Tx.
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

New load center


I need two 200A load centers. Is there a brand and or model that I should get? There seem to be a few choices and would like to know if one is better than another.

HitmanZR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 03:27 PM   #2
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 90
Default

New load center


I like Square D the best.

Seen too many GE breakers not trip when they should.

jbberns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 04:02 PM   #3
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

New load center


I like Siemens.All depends on what you like.Cutler Hammer is another choice
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 04:16 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

New load center


I have Square D
I ended up sticking with what was in the house whan I bought it
Both sub-panels are Square D too
Makes it easier to swap breakers
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 07:24 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

New load center


We generally use Siemans because of the copper bus.



SQ D = over rated IMO
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 08:14 PM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

New load center


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post

SQ D = over rated IMO
You betcha there are.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 09:37 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

New load center


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
We generally use Siemans because of the copper bus.



SQ D = over rated IMO
Square D type QO panels utilize copper busses as well. HOMELINE panels have aluminum bus.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 09:49 PM   #8
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

New load center


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
We generally use Siemans because of the copper bus.



SQ D = over rated IMO
Maybe overpriced, but I don't think there is a better brand of plug in circuit breaker and panel on the market than QO. The breakers are solid, and the buss "snap" is oh so tight and reassuring. Others, GE, Siemens, CH, Homeline, all seem to flop around without the panel cover holding them still. I don't like the fact that the panel cover provides mechanical support to actually keep the breaker from moving. I think that support should come from how the breaker is attached to the panel, and I see that in QO.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 11:53 PM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,990
Default

New load center


What?.... nobody mentioned the ole pushmatics (bulldog) that bolt on...... BTW save the breakers if you demo out a panel you will be glad you did.

My choice (if I get one) copper busses and of those I like the QO. Second I like cutler hammer ch (tan toggles) not the BR. The older CH with the tan colored can was hard to beat.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 08:55 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 38
Default

New load center


Cutler Hammer CH Loadcenters also have a copper bus.
nomad4137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 10:48 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

New load center


2 - 200 amp panels. Are you sure thats all you need to know?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 01:00 PM   #12
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,596
Default

New load center


Coming form a commercial/industrial background, (also known as 'high abuse' environments lol) I'd recommend Square D QO. I realize that most of the panels I work with use bolt-on breakers, but there are plenty of push-ins as well.

I've seen fewer burn-ups with Sq D, and the breakers (both bolt-on and push on) seem to do a bit better at differentiating between a motor starting surge and a short or ground fault.

GE was mentioned above, I test breakers occasionally (usually for certification of some sort), and I've seen GE breakers fail to trip. Even with several hundred amps across them. It's rare, but it does happen.

I'm also pretty impressed with Siemens though. Since QOs are considerably more expensive, Siemens may well be the most economical.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 01:28 PM   #13
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

New load center


I used one of the three most items .,,

SqD QO series
Seimans
CH CH classic series

Those three is good but there are other good one as well but not GE it is not on my list at all { have past issue with them before }

Pushmatic jezz that is good one but wish they stay around and make new one that is really rugged one I know it seems old school but not get much call back realted to them due they are true bolt on design.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 03:02 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 125
Default

New load center


Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
GE was mentioned above, I test breakers occasionally (usually for certification of some sort), and I've seen GE breakers fail to trip. Even with several hundred amps across them. It's rare, but it does happen.

Rob

Whoa. What? Really? Were counterfeits ruled out?

See, this just disturbs me, because I have a perfectly functional GE panel in my shop, and have pretty much decided on replacing the hokey over-stuffed Bryant panel in my house with a GE panel. It just makes sense for me to stick to one brand on the property for maintenance reasons.

I haven't done a lot of load center installations, but I'd bet I have done more than most other DIY guys. Aside from one CH that I installed several years ago, I have used GE panels exclusively. Maybe I'm missing something, but they seemed like a good value. Copper bars, no one complaining about them starting fires, and they can be easily found in white, which looks a lot better in a living space than grey.

Just when I think I know what works for me, someone comes along and says something that makes me question my decisions.
KAdams4458 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 05:05 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 75
Default

New load center


The NEC code book, has up the AFCI breaker requirements, meaning more locations, then ever before.
These AFCI are bigger than their standard circuit breaker, I hate having the breakers extend over
the bus bar. So I would recommend a QO SD MAIN CIRCUIT BREAKER panel, which is Service Rated.

I don't recommend their Homeline Series. Do a side by side comparison, you'll see what mean.

Ranger31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flush mount an outdoor load center? wmldwilly Electrical 1 04-29-2009 07:17 PM
Load center vs. bottom fed Panel Board. Ugh. wmldwilly Electrical 8 04-23-2009 07:48 PM
Load Center Replacement - with or w/o main breaker? shepiii Electrical 3 01-30-2009 11:04 AM
Termite repair to load center wall - precautions shepiii Electrical 3 01-21-2009 04:14 PM
Load Center dwayne Electrical 4 07-09-2006 01:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.