Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-21-2011, 08:17 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 38
Share |
Default

New light switch with new wiring


I have new wiring installed ( romex simpull AWG 12 ground type nm-b). There are two sets of wires coming into the light switch box. One is hot, neutral and ground. The other is going to a overhead vanity light. I have installed a Pass & Seymour lighted switch (15 amp, 1 pole paddle style). I connected the two neutrals together and put both blacks to the switch. Also connected ground. I have confirmed there is power coming in. The switch does not light and lights do not work. I would like to ask if my wiring is correct.
Attached Images
 

Towerdog2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 08:28 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 141
Default

New light switch with new wiring


looks ok...trouble shoot this by connecting the 2 blacks together with out the switch

Marbledust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 08:45 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,401
Default

New light switch with new wiring


How did you confirm voltage? Did you measure voltage between black and white? Could be an open white. Could be a false reading of power if the black is open.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 08:54 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 38
Default

New light switch with new wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marbledust
looks ok...trouble shoot this by connecting the 2 blacks together with out the switch
I have connected both blacks and no power
Towerdog2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 09:43 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 38
Default

New light switch with new wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed
How did you confirm voltage? Did you measure voltage between black and white? Could be an open white. Could be a false reading of power if the black is open.
Have 118 coming in between black and white. With switch on between the other black and white is 101.5 and switch off is 65.4.
Towerdog2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 10:20 AM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

New light switch with new wiring


Your reading don't make sense. Do this but be careful. Leave it wired up as in the picture but unscrew the wire nut on the white wire and then take your voltage reading with the switch on and off. You may be able to do this with the wire nut on if you can touch the wires inside the nut with your probe. Are you using a volt meter?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 11:21 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 38
Default

New light switch with new wiring


I am using a amprobe meter and I have it set on dBm V. The incoming line is 120. The line going to the light from black to white measures 60 with switch off and 87 with switch on. Makes no sense. Bad meter?
Attached Images
 
Towerdog2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 11:26 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,867
Default

New light switch with new wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Towerdog2 View Post
I am using a amprobe meter and I have it set on dBm V. The incoming line is 120. The line going to the light from black to white measures 60 with switch off and 87 with switch on. Makes no sense. Bad meter?
For the above picture, where are the meter probes touched?
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 11:28 AM   #9
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

New light switch with new wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Towerdog2 View Post
I am using a amprobe meter and I have it set on dBm V. The incoming line is 120. The line going to the light from black to white measures 60 with switch off and 87 with switch on. Makes no sense. Bad meter?
Maybe low battery, that will give a wrong reading. Also make sure it is on AC volts and not dbm, easy to hit a button on mistake.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 11:29 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,867
Default

New light switch with new wiring


In this case (not necessarily all cases) measure voltage with one probe ind the wire nut holding the white wires together and without ever undoing that wire nut.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 12:09 PM   #11
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,535
Default

New light switch with new wiring


Voltage readings other than 120V on incoming are phantom. Check the connection of the white wires, most likely a problem there.

Also, wires should be wrapped around the screws clockwise, yellow sheathing should be stripped back leaving only a 1/4 in inside the box, and wirenut connections should be made so that you can see the insulated portion of the wire twisted.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 12:13 PM   #12
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

New light switch with new wiring


The display in the meter is showing .012 volts or aren't the lead connected?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 12:53 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 38
Default

New light switch with new wiring


I hate to admit it, to embarrased tell ya how stupid. But it was my mistake. Thank you for all your help.
Towerdog2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 01:14 PM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,699
Default

New light switch with new wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Towerdog2 View Post
I hate to admit it, to embarrased tell ya how stupid. But it was my mistake. Thank you for all your help.
Come on, fess up.
We have all made stupid mistakes, and we all learn from them.



So, what did you forget to do?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 01:19 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 38
Default

New light switch with new wiring


I knew someone would say that. At the light I twisted the cap to tight and it sheared off the tip of the hot wire. I am glad it was an easy fix.

Towerdog2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a single pole wall switch to a ceiling fan and light. How ? Larry Lambert Electrical 3 03-08-2011 03:52 PM
wiring in line light switch on power cord basicbrand Electrical 4 12-08-2009 09:36 AM
wiring receptacle form light switch olazu Electrical 8 12-03-2009 09:10 PM
Light switch installation problems pc_clone Electrical 8 11-30-2009 09:25 PM
Hunter Fan Dual Switch Wiring Configuration Help schierle Electrical 2 03-29-2009 08:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.