Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2013, 12:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new light switch for kitchen


Hi there,

I bought new lightswitch made by leviton with an LED guide light. the old switch in the wall is a toggle switch. My house is over 30 years old....also. There are 3 sets of wires inside the switch box......each with a white and black wire....and there are 3 copper (ground) wires screwed down in the switch box. So there is a total of 6 wires in the switch box. The new switch calls for 2 black wires, 1 white neutral wire and a ground.. (the old switch had no neutral wire on it because all the neutral wires were stuck together in the switch box with a twisty plug thing).

I am confused as to hook this thing up. Ive tried all combinations and light isnt working......*sigh*

Is there any help for me?

EUGEBE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 01:07 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

new light switch for kitchen


Quote:
Originally Posted by EUGEBE View Post
Hi there,

I bought new lightswitch made by leviton with an LED guide light. the old switch in the wall is a toggle switch. My house is over 30 years old....also. There are 3 sets of wires inside the switch box......each with a white and black wire....and there are 3 copper (ground) wires screwed down in the switch box. So there is a total of 6 wires in the switch box. The new switch calls for 2 black wires, 1 white neutral wire and a ground.. (the old switch had no neutral wire on it because all the neutral wires were stuck together in the switch box with a twisty plug thing).

I am confused as to hook this thing up. Ive tried all combinations and light isnt working......*sigh*

Is there any help for me?
Do you have any friends with some basic electrical knowledge?

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 01:32 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new light switch for kitchen


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Do you have any friends with some basic electrical knowledge?

Hi, thanks for responding! Unfortunately i dont ..... but i am willing to try!
EUGEBE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 01:53 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Zeeland MI
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 81
Default

new light switch for kitchen


Quote:
Originally Posted by EUGEBE View Post
Hi, thanks for responding! Unfortunately i dont ..... but i am willing to try!
Go to the Leviton web site
http://www.leviton.com
Type in the Leviton part number on the box and find the wiring diagram. ( if it is not on the box) the neutral on the switch is probably to power the LED.

Determine how the light gets its power. It can be fed from the main panel to the light OR the switch.

Looks to see if any of the white wires has tape on it to re-identify it as a switch leg

Next determine what wire goes where. One from the light box, one from another receptacle box elsewhere, one from the basement etc.

You can do this by finding the breaker the light is on then tracing the wire to the to where it goes up in the basement.

If you don't have a basement and cannot trace the wires..
You can figure this out turning off the breaker taking out the switch, wire nut each wire and turn it back on to test each wire with a tester.

Be very careful when you pull off the wire nuts to test. At least one of them will be at 120V.

Once you figure out what wire goes post further questions if you cannot figure out how to wire from the Leviton wiring diagram.
mech_gui is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mech_gui For This Useful Post:
EUGEBE (03-09-2013)
Old 03-09-2013, 02:56 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

new light switch for kitchen


Do you have two blacks on one side of the switch and one on the other? The single is going to the light, while the other two are power in and power out.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 02:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Zeeland MI
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 81
Default

new light switch for kitchen


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Do you have two blacks on one side of the switch and one on the other? The single is going to the light, while the other two are power in and power out.
I'm thinking a picture may help too.
mech_gui is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mech_gui For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (03-09-2013), stickboy1375 (03-09-2013)
Old 03-09-2013, 03:24 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,271
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

new light switch for kitchen


If this box has three switches, and three sets of wires, me thinks that the OP has a "Switch Loop" for all of those switches.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 03:27 PM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

new light switch for kitchen


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
If this box has three switches, and three sets of wires, me thinks that the OP has a "Switch Loop" for all of those switches.
I didnt think that at all, he said he had 3 sets of wires within a switch box. Im going with feed in, feed out, and the load... of course, this would have been a easy explanation if he hadn't changed the splice already...
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Stubbie (03-09-2013)
Old 03-09-2013, 03:28 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new light switch for kitchen


Are u sure u didn't purchase a 3 way switch?
Bubski27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 03:52 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new light switch for kitchen


Quote:
Originally Posted by mech_gui View Post
I'm thinking a picture may help too.


okk....i have the switch leg connected to the side of the switch......

the left side of the switch is where the load goes in...(black) and on the right side of the switch is the white (switch leg) on top..and another black on the botttom. however, there is still one more black wire left exposed in the junction box that is exposed. where does that wire go???
EUGEBE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 04:03 PM   #11
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,271
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

new light switch for kitchen


Quote:
Originally Posted by EUGEBE View Post
okk....i have the switch leg connected to the side of the switch......

the left side of the switch is where the load goes in...(black) and on the right side of the switch is the white (switch leg) on top..and another black on the botttom. however, there is still one more black wire left exposed in the junction box that is exposed. where does that wire go???
Post a picture please.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 04:23 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Zeeland MI
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 81
Default

new light switch for kitchen


Is this what you have plus another cable with a black & white? If so the last one may be a feed through to a receptacle or something else.
Attached Thumbnails
new light switch for kitchen-basic_switch.jpg  
mech_gui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 04:40 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Zeeland MI
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 81
Default

new light switch for kitchen


If it is a feed through it could look something like this. You really need to be sure where each wire goes.
Attached Thumbnails
new light switch for kitchen-switch_wfeed_thru.jpg  
mech_gui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 06:44 PM   #14
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

new light switch for kitchen


If they are switch leg loops, power running to the fixture first and then to the switch, you will not have a neutral in that box and your lighted switch won't work without doing some rewiring.

Code starting in 2011 now requires neutrals in all switch boxes for this very reason.
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 08:23 PM   #15
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

new light switch for kitchen


I don't think the OP has a switch loop, in the first post he mentions that all the neutrals were wire-nutted together in the switchbox.

Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kyle_in_rure For This Useful Post:
TTW (03-09-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Hot wires on both sides of switch RedRumLoki Electrical 4 11-20-2012 09:37 PM
Replace bathroom light switch with dimmer switch ToddD Electrical 11 05-06-2012 05:58 PM
Motion Light tripping GFCI? Jonobp Electrical 5 09-07-2009 07:52 PM
Confused by switch w/indicator light install... WaldenL Electrical 7 08-29-2009 09:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.