New Light/switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2010, 03:21 AM   #1
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10

New light/switch

I'm tyring to install three lights in my basement and run them off a signal switch my question is do I run my wire from the circuit breaker to the light switch and from there to the lights or what should I do? Pleaseme out with this one.


Mr.Phillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:20 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
jbfan's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 6,293
Rewards Points: 2,982

New light/switch

I always run the circuit to the switch, then run the wires to the lights.


Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:32 AM   #3
Just call me Andrew
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,260
Rewards Points: 1,016

New light/switch

Not trying to be rude here...but are you planning to do any work inside your electrical panel? Running wiring to a new switch-->light is a fairly basic project. If you're not sure how to do that, you should research more before going inside the panel.

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 07:23 AM   #4
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,347
Rewards Points: 2,796

New light/switch

The most straightforward method electrically is to run the power to the switch and then to the lights.

Other routings may be more straightforward physically.

It is only a slight step up in complexity to run the power to the light first where the power and switch are connected to the same light connection box. Diagram

You can run the power to one light and connect the switch to a different light if you run 3 wire cable from where the power comes in to the light box where the switch is connected. Diagram
Do you get coverage you can count on? From the bag of fertilizer? From your lawn sprinklers?

Last edited by AllanJ; 03-22-2010 at 07:38 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 11:46 AM   #5
joed's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 9,850
Rewards Points: 6,494
Blog Entries: 11

New light/switch

If it is a single fixture then I would run from the panel to which ever is closest, fixture or switch. Then on to the other device. If it is the same either way then to the switch first.
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote

electrical , light switch , wiring

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Top of Page | View New Posts