New Light/switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2010, 03:21 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Question

New light/switch


I'm tyring to install three lights in my basement and run them off a signal switch my question is do I run my wire from the circuit breaker to the light switch and from there to the lights or what should I do? Pleaseme out with this one.
THANKS

Advertisement

Mr.Phillips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:20 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 6,615
Rewards Points: 626
Default


I always run the circuit to the switch, then run the wires to the lights.

Advertisement

__________________
"The problem isn't that Hillary Clinton lies. We all know she lies. The problem is that her supporters don't seem to care"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:32 AM   #3
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,260
Rewards Points: 1,016
Default


Not trying to be rude here...but are you planning to do any work inside your electrical panel? Running wiring to a new switch-->light is a fairly basic project. If you're not sure how to do that, you should research more before going inside the panel.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 07:23 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,770
Rewards Points: 3,646
Default


The most straightforward method electrically is to run the power to the switch and then to the lights.

Other routings may be more straightforward physically.

It is only a slight step up in complexity to run the power to the light first where the power and switch are connected to the same light connection box. Diagram

You can run the power to one light and connect the switch to a different light if you run 3 wire cable from where the power comes in to the light box where the switch is connected. Diagram
__________________
Tornado victims: Do not rush to rebuild. Take your time and look for and get a good contractor. Or consider selling the property and moving to a home that is ready to live in.

Last edited by AllanJ; 03-22-2010 at 07:38 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 11:46 AM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,457
Rewards Points: 9,706
Blog Entries: 11
Default


If it is a single fixture then I would run from the panel to which ever is closest, fixture or switch. Then on to the other device. If it is the same either way then to the switch first.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical , light switch , wiring


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1