New Light Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2012, 06:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new light switch


I have an outside light that is connected to one switch. I would like to add another switch inside the house without running additional wiring. How can I accomplish this and what will I need? Thanks.

Advertisement

snuffy12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 09:38 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,789
Rewards Points: 694
Default

new light switch


Another switch to do what, control the same light?
Not going to happen without running new wires.
http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=...electedIndex=0

Advertisement

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 09:48 PM   #3
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,333
Rewards Points: 3,304
Default

new light switch


Joe is right---kind of like wanting to add a new faucet without any new pipes---I do think somebody makes a remote control switch that works with batteries ---that might work for you---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 11:46 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,385
Rewards Points: 3,564
Blog Entries: 4
Default

new light switch


Wireless three way

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=wireless+three+way
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 01:01 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,164
Rewards Points: 2,120
Default

new light switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by snuffy12 View Post
I have an outside light that is connected to one switch. I would like to add another switch inside the house without running additional wiring. How can I accomplish this and what will I need? Thanks.
easy... pick up a Lutron Pico and maestro wireless switch.


Home depot sells this product... 70 bucks...


Last edited by stickboy1375; 12-29-2012 at 01:04 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 04:18 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

new light switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by snuffy12 View Post
I have an outside light that is connected to one switch. I would like to add another switch inside the house without running additional wiring. How can I accomplish this and what will I need? Thanks.
Do you want the "another switch" to control the garbage disposal?
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 12:45 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,720
Rewards Points: 2,400
Default

new light switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by snuffy12 View Post
I have an outside light that is connected to one switch. I would like to add another switch inside the house without running additional wiring. How can I accomplish this and what will I need? Thanks.
Where exacilty do you want the new switch ?
To control what ?
All switchs need wiring of some sort !
Please elaborate !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 09:00 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new light switch


I installed a wireless switch from Leviton which can be used like a regular switch or can be controlled with a remote. Works great.
snuffy12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 10:58 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new light switch


If you still looking for solution please elaborate I will surely be able to help you

Advertisement

prateekgupta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
Hot wires on both sides of switch RedRumLoki Electrical 4 11-20-2012 10:37 PM
Replace bathroom light switch with dimmer switch ToddD Electrical 11 05-06-2012 06:58 PM
Motion Light tripping GFCI? Jonobp Electrical 5 09-07-2009 08:52 PM
Confused by switch w/indicator light install... WaldenL Electrical 7 08-29-2009 10:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts