New Light Deadline! Where Can I Get This - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2013, 03:52 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: metro
Posts: 1,310
Rewards Points: 852
Question

new light deadline! where can i get this


So we are progressing along upstairs, and the current phase is putting up new ceiling in the bedroom. However, before we do that, i want to install some new LED lights. I already have 2 LED disc lights wired to a switch.

my project is this: i want to install 2 more LED lights in the ceiling, but this time instead of a switch i want to be able to use a remote to turn them on and off. Where/ how can i do this?

basically something like a tv except the remote will be for controlling a set of lights.
thanks!

Advertisement

federer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 04:28 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,002
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

new light deadline! where can i get this


Lutron makes a remote switch. Check the Maestro line.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
federer (01-15-2013)
Old 01-15-2013, 05:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: metro
Posts: 1,310
Rewards Points: 852
Default

new light deadline! where can i get this


jim! thanks for looking here. havent seen you here in forever. i dont come up to the electrical section much haha
federer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 07:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: metro
Posts: 1,310
Rewards Points: 852
Default

new light deadline! where can i get this


nevermind i found something else.

new question-how do i install new incandescent sockets? i am thinking i want 2 or 3

edit again-can i chain it with the other LED disc light i already have up?

Last edited by federer; 01-15-2013 at 07:42 PM.
federer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 07:56 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: metro
Posts: 1,310
Rewards Points: 852
Default

new light deadline! where can i get this


here is a pic of what is up now. the light is wired to a switch at the wall. if i connect the new LED remote lights to this light, i can still use the remote for the new lights right? since the IR or whatever is built into the light itself.

federer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 09:38 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,002
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

new light deadline! where can i get this


Unless there is constant power at the new light the existing switch would need to be on for the remote to work.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 10:18 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: metro
Posts: 1,310
Rewards Points: 852
Default

new light deadline! where can i get this


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Unless there is constant power at the new light the existing switch would need to be on for the remote to work.
so basically i should wire a new line so its always hot.

because the switch goes on and off. when i turn it off the remote is thus disabled as well.

is thsi right?
federer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 10:19 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: metro
Posts: 1,310
Rewards Points: 852
Default

new light deadline! where can i get this


so i guess my question is how do i add in a new line? i would like to keep the switched light to the switch
federer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 10:28 PM   #9
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,110
Rewards Points: 500
Default

new light deadline! where can i get this


Quote:
Originally Posted by federer View Post
so basically i should wire a new line so its always hot.

because the switch goes on and off. when i turn it off the remote is thus disabled as well.

is thsi right?
From your pic there looks to be 2 lines running from the light. If so, you may be able to get power from the light.
How many wire in the box where the switch is?
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sublime2 For This Useful Post:
federer (01-15-2013)
Old 01-15-2013, 10:29 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,002
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

new light deadline! where can i get this


Quote:
Originally Posted by federer View Post
so basically i should wire a new line so its always hot.

because the switch goes on and off. when i turn it off the remote is thus disabled as well.

is this right?
Correct.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 10:31 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,002
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

new light deadline! where can i get this


Quote:
Originally Posted by federer View Post
so i guess my question is how do i add in a new line? i would like to keep the switched light to the switch
Find a source of power and run that to a new fixture. Leave the existing wiring alone.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
federer (01-15-2013)
Old 01-15-2013, 11:18 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: metro
Posts: 1,310
Rewards Points: 852
Default

new light deadline! where can i get this


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
From your pic there looks to be 2 lines running from the light. If so, you may be able to get power from the light.
How many wire in the box where the switch is?
good eye! yea so i have 2 LED lights i plan on putting up. one is in the pic, the other one i have not connected yet. so thats what the loose line is for. it terminates there.

so both of those lights are on the switch.
federer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 11:20 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: metro
Posts: 1,310
Rewards Points: 852
Default

new light deadline! where can i get this


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Find a source of power and run that to a new fixture. Leave the existing wiring alone.
whats an easy way to do this? do i just go in the next room and splice in a new line, and drag it over to use?
federer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 01:27 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: metro
Posts: 1,310
Rewards Points: 852
Default

new light deadline! where can i get this


just spent the last few hours reading. wow electricians are tough!

so i am only adding 2 new LED lights at like 5 watts each. is there a way to splice new wire from the existing switch, but have it always be hot?

these are the ones i am adding
http://www.amazon.com/HitLights-Colo...I1QVRU63XR1RDM
federer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 01:46 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: metro
Posts: 1,310
Rewards Points: 852
Default

new light deadline! where can i get this


ok so here is my new idea:
i have an outlet in the room. i believe its hot. can i just splice into the outlet for my new lights?
in the case that i can do this, when i go to make the connections, am i allowed to put the 2 hot black wires on the same screw?( white goes to the other screw, and ground goes to green)

Advertisement

federer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dimmer 'crossfade' when combining light circuits mitchl Electrical 8 12-11-2011 04:00 PM
Help wiring ceiling light wylde8 Electrical 1 09-24-2009 07:29 AM
Motion Light tripping GFCI? Jonobp Electrical 5 09-07-2009 08:52 PM
Marmoleum repairs muggyfrost Flooring 8 10-16-2008 09:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts