New Home Used To Be Two Units, Need Help. - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2013, 02:48 PM   #16
Always learning...
 
fetzer85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Northern WV
Posts: 452
Rewards Points: 250
Default

New home used to be two units, need help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkharden View Post
Appreciate the sarcasm. I'm confused though. This is called the DIY chatroom, and DIY stands for "do it yourself". So why all the lack of help? I guess it is assumed that I have zero experience or knowledge with electrical, but that's an incorrect assumption. I just have no experience with this particular task, hence the question. In this case I guess diy chatroom means "place where licensed electricians come and tell non-licensed electricians not to do it themselves".
Let me ask you this smart ass, did you make any attempt to figure anything out before you came posting here? You're right it is called DIY, not DIFM. (do it for me) I'm surprised you didn't prefix your post with" Quick question...".

Have a nice day.

Advertisement

fetzer85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 07:12 PM   #17
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

New home used to be two units, need help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkharden View Post
The house I'm buying used to be broken up into two separate apartments, and as a result has two meters and two breaker boxes. Both of the breaker boxes are 100amp. What's the best way to combine these two services into one?
Wow.... Was alex's question really that bad or novice.

(Necesarily he was a little harsh also, or to the point depending on your point of view and the thickness of your skin, when someone extended personal advice rather than the electrical issues.)... but kinda understandable.

Heck.... I got pulled the other day when I sarcastically answered that guy who wanted to know how bright his light bulbs should be in his office, wanted to know where to buy them.... and then demanded his questions be answered... after everyone had been explaining lumens and watts to him for three pages.

Just my honest difference of opinion.

Best

Peter
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 07:22 PM   #18
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

New home used to be two units, need help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkharden View Post
The house I'm buying used to be broken up into two separate apartments, and as a result has two meters and two breaker boxes. Both of the breaker boxes are 100amp. What's the best way to combine these two services into one?
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkharden View Post
Because the house is never going to be broken into two units again. I don't want to have two meters outside, I just want to have one, and if I disconnect one of the meters then the breaker box it feeds will be dead. I need to end up with just one meter and the breaker boxes combined, connected, or replaced in such a way that the whole dwelling gets power.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkharden View Post
Well, I'm sure that's the correct procedure. It isn't the one that will happen though. I guess I'll have to Google it, since this hasn't been as helpful as I'd hoped it be.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkharden View Post
Appreciate the sarcasm. I'm confused though. This is called the DIY chatroom, and DIY stands for "do it yourself". So why all the lack of help? I guess it is assumed that I have zero experience or knowledge with electrical, but that's an incorrect assumption. I just have no experience with this particular task, hence the question. In this case I guess diy chatroom means "place where licensed electricians come and tell non-licensed electricians not to do it themselves".
Matter of fact.... Did his reponses really bother anyone... dumb question... guess so.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MTN REMODEL LLC For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (05-27-2013), sublime2 (05-26-2013)
Old 05-26-2013, 08:27 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

New home used to be two units, need help.


Beware: You could end up spending gobs of money to achieve the end result of replacing the pair of meters (which you consider ugly) with a single meter.

For this change, you would need to do a load analysis (described in the National Electric Code, includes such things as 3 watts for each square foot of living space).

In turn this may mandate upgrading the main panel and its service (wires coming in from the street).

Whereas if you keep the existing two meters and two services, you have almost the equivalent of a 200 amp service without having to change anything.

Changing the main panel and/or the service equipment generally (in most cities) requires a separate permit from other electrical upgrades you might be doing at the same time. Also, changing the main panel requires coordination with the power company since the meter has to be pulled while the work is done.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-26-2013 at 08:39 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (05-27-2013)
Old 05-27-2013, 12:29 AM   #20
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

New home used to be two units, need help.


ALLEN J.... Nice professional respose...IMO

Alex... I just got back from MemDay party... if your still around....I'll extend my best knowledge if it is helpfull to ya tomorrow.

I suspect some others may also... just let someone know you're still checking.

And keep telling it as it is. Check the responses... it was just two partys... everyone else was addressing real issues.

Best Regards

Peter
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MTN REMODEL LLC For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (05-27-2013), sirsparksalot (05-27-2013)
Old 05-27-2013, 12:46 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

New home used to be two units, need help.


Jeez, the guy wants to do something to his home, and wants advice, and he gets a lot of "why do you want to?" Because he does! "You shouldn't do that"! But he wants to, and it's his home.

OP, in order to do the work you want, you will need to pull a permit from your local county. Many allow homeowners to do their own work. Some don't give a hoot who does it.

As Peter said, post back, and hopefully we can get you some help.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sirsparksalot For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (05-27-2013), MTN REMODEL LLC (05-27-2013)
Old 05-27-2013, 12:48 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

New home used to be two units, need help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
You will not do that. A licensed and insured electrician should do this job for you.
No question about that.
This is a DIY forum, give it a break. If you don't want to help, just don't respond.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sirsparksalot For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (05-27-2013)
Old 05-27-2013, 01:07 AM   #23
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

New home used to be two units, need help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
This is a DIY forum, give it a break. If you don't want to help, just don't respond.
Not intending to plagarize a previouys post but "WELL SAID"

and thank you
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MTN REMODEL LLC For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (05-27-2013)
Old 05-27-2013, 12:40 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

New home used to be two units, need help.


Bottom line is, this job is not your every day service change and he is dealing with two dwelling units.
To accomplish this project will require many pages of instructions and we do not know the skill level of the OP.
Some of us use our real names on this forum and do not want to be held responsible for bad information or any information leading to the OP killing himself of others.

For those who do not take this business serious enough, I ask that you go out and get an electrical contracting license and see how you feel regarding advice and safety.
Sometimes you must read between the lines.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (05-27-2013)
Old 05-27-2013, 12:46 PM   #25
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,167
Rewards Points: 2,126
Default

New home used to be two units, need help.


I doubt the OP can legally do the work anyway... so this thread is a moot point.

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (05-27-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1938 TN Home - My First Home, My First project, Tons of Pictures!!! Firefighter3244 Project Showcase 78 07-01-2014 11:55 PM
Condensation amyevans Windows and Doors 6 10-21-2011 11:11 PM
Moisture on windows baum Building & Construction 56 12-22-2009 06:39 PM
Owning a home (not a mobile home) on leased land? Badfish740 Off Topic 11 03-30-2008 10:34 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts