Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2009, 12:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pa - USA
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New home owner - Main break box questions...


Hey all,

I just recently bought a home with my g/f last year, and a relative of mine who is a general contractor/heating & air tech did a inspection for us this weekend. We have found MANY qwerks with this house, as it belonged to the same family for over 45 years, and was a barn converted into a house many aes ago.

The breaker box for our electric was done before we bought the place, and my relative saw some concerns with it. The way it is wired, is there are several rooms on one breaker, and several appliances running on breakers with other appliances.

Basicaly, the kitchen, garage, and basement all seem to be on one breaker. All 3 upstairs bedrooms and the upstairs bath room are all on one breaker, and it appears that the only 2 things that are on thier on switches are the well pump (well water), and the central air unit.

Should be consider have him re-wire the entire box? He was suggestiong that all major appliances are on thier own break and to seperate the rooms up a bit as well...

Any thoughts? Thanks in advance.

liberty610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 12:39 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New home owner - Main break box questions...


Older homes multiple rooms & lights were on the same breaker
What appliances are on the same breaker.....that's a pretty generic term as a 50a stove is an appliance

Once you start to rewire you will need to upgrade as you go to meet all current codes
GFCI in bathrooms, kitchen, garage, possibly basement, AFCI's all over
Dedicated runs to bathroom, 2 to kitchen, laundry

A lot has changed in 45 years as far as code & electric needs in a house

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 12:48 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

New home owner - Main break box questions...


When I bought my house, it took every cent I had! So I was broke for awhile.

If you have the money, go for it! But the neat thing about electrical wiring is you can do a little at a time if you want.

A modern electrical system can have 8 or more breakers just for the kitchen, each room on its own breaker, and additional circuits for power hogs like a window air conditioner, heater in the bathroom, outside outlets, etc.

So first I would determine if your breaker panel has enough spare slots for more circuits or not? How many spare slots?

And what the total amperage is of the main panel?

Then do you have electric or another type of heat?

Electric clothes dryer?

Any plans to add a room, buy an electric kiln, power tools, RV, central air conditioning, etc.? (Things which would use a lot of electricity...)

Then are you currently having problems with breakers tripping? Which?
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 02:21 PM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

New home owner - Main break box questions...


What you have stated(tho a little lacking in depth) is legal and was standard practice in the day. While it might be less than desired (I hate tripping one breaker and having to stumble thu a dark house) there are no problems that I see.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 02:34 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

New home owner - Main break box questions...


Quote:
Originally Posted by liberty610 View Post
Should be consider have him re-wire the entire box? He was suggestiong that all major appliances are on thier own break and to seperate the rooms up a bit as well...
You do not need to re-wire "the box". You need to re-wire the house. It is not the panel's fault that so many things are on one circuit.

At the very least, running a few new circuits should be a start.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 05:38 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pa - USA
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New home owner - Main break box questions...


Thanks for the replies everyone. We are not tripping any breakers at all (yet). But there is only 2 of us that live here right now, and we both work seperate schedules, so there is usualy only 1 of us here 80% of the time.

I looked at the box itself, and it was last inspected in 2006. We bought the house last year, so I know its ok as far as legal goes. I was just wondering because we are working on getting a lot of our appliances updated. We started with the dishwasher last year, and plan on getting a new hot water tank, new fridge, and new washer/dryer all energy compliant.

One thing that was a concern to my cousin (who did the inspection) was we have 2 spots in the house (attick and one of the bedroom closets) where there are bare un-covered wires hanging out of what looks like un-finished lighting fixures. Also, in the bedrooms there use to be skontlet(sp) lights built in the wall back in the day, and it appears they turned all of them but one into regular outlets (witch is a regular around the bedrooms). Only thing is, in the main bedroom, there are 2 they turned to outlets, and trhen wall papered over them. This is a saftery issue, yes?
liberty610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 05:51 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New home owner - Main break box questions...


If they wallpapered over outlets yeah that's a concern
All boxes where connections are made must be left accessible
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 06:06 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pa - USA
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New home owner - Main break box questions...


Ok, I'll for sure get that portion of the wallpaper rip off soon then. We plan on changing at lot as far as cosmetic work goes anyways. Rather be safe then sorry lol.
liberty610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 06:08 PM   #9
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New home owner - Main break box questions...


A General Contractor/HVAC Tech has no business doing any electrical outside of an A/C unit. Call an electrician.

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
home owner in the windy cidy dwm Introductions 2 11-25-2009 12:24 AM
New Home Owner Needs Help nho85 HVAC 3 06-30-2009 02:56 PM
Concrete/Mortar issues First time home owner Pictures Included stefonroman Building & Construction 2 03-01-2009 08:12 AM
main subpanel questions rsriverrat Electrical 34 11-05-2008 12:57 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.