Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2013, 01:42 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 139
Rewards Points: 75
Default

new GFCI outlet won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2

Incorrect. A GFI will work properly without a ground. It will not protect equipment without a ground, hence the label that comes with it indicating such.
Rob's statement was in response to oh'mike's comments about getting an electrical tester. What Rob was pointing out is those testers won't trip the GFCI if there is no ground wire present. You need to use the integral tester on the GFCI receptacle if there is no ground wire present.

clydesdale is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to clydesdale For This Useful Post:
micromind (05-28-2013)
Old 05-28-2013, 09:44 AM   #17
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,103
Rewards Points: 500
Default

new GFCI outlet won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by clydesdale View Post

Rob's statement was in response to oh'mike's comments about getting an electrical tester. What Rob was pointing out is those testers won't trip the GFCI if there is no ground wire present. You need to use the integral tester on the GFCI receptacle if there is no ground wire present.
Think you may need to re read what he posted.

a GFI will trip on a fault if there's no ground present, but it will not trip by pushing the test button if there's no ground.
sublime2 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sublime2 For This Useful Post:
micromind (05-28-2013)
Old 05-28-2013, 10:00 AM   #18
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,866
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

new GFCI outlet won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
Think you may need to re read what he posted.

a GFI will trip on a fault if there's no ground present, but it will not trip by pushing the test button if there's no ground.
Could there be different circuted GFI's. I replaced a bunch on my daughters ungrounded 1953 build, and while I can't go over there now, I could swear they trip with their integral trip test button.

They definately won't trip with the "plug-in" tester, as that uses a jump to ground to fault it.

My memory could be wrong though, but I could swear the intternal trip will trip it. It was my first experience with an old non-grounded branch system.

Peter
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 10:16 AM   #19
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,103
Rewards Points: 500
Default

new GFCI outlet won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post

Could there be different circuted GFI's. I replaced a bunch on my daughters ungrounded 1953 build, and while I can't go over there now, I could swear they trip with their integral trip test button.

They definately won't trip with the "plug-in" tester, as that uses a jump to ground to fault it.
My memory could be wrong though, but I could swear the intternal trip will trip it. It was my first experience with an old non-grounded branch system.

Peter
You are correct!
sublime2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:43 PM   #20
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,711
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

new GFCI outlet won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
Think you may need to re read what he posted.

a GFI will trip on a fault if there's no ground present, but it will not trip by pushing the test button if there's no ground.
If you mean the test button on a 3 light tester you are correct. If you mean the built-in test button you are incorrect.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
clydesdale (05-28-2013), MTN REMODEL LLC (05-28-2013)
Old 05-28-2013, 09:51 PM   #21
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,902
Rewards Points: 2,452
Default

new GFCI outlet won't work


I learn something new every day, here in electrical---Thanks---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:27 AM   #22
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,300
Rewards Points: 506
Default

new GFCI outlet won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Did you cut the breaker back on, needs power to reset.
Checked to make sure there's incoming power?
100% sure you have the incoming power on the load side of the outlet not the line side? Should be marking on the back side if the outlet to tell you which is which.
I figure you know what you meant, and just typed it wrong, but I *think* this is backwards....isn't it?

The incoming feed comes to the line side.

EDIT: Sorry Joe, I just read down far enough to see the other similar comment.


Last edited by jproffer; 05-29-2013 at 09:29 AM.
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gfci outlet, outlet


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another GFCI Question Jzone99 Electrical 5 09-16-2012 01:56 PM
GFCI special application--on demand for brief period highdeserthome Electrical 33 01-20-2012 11:19 AM
how to know/test if an outlet is GFI protected (water test doesn't work)? DanDaMan Electrical 17 03-07-2011 05:38 PM
Replacing outlet to new GFCI - Wall switch Protonix Electrical 13 04-09-2009 08:36 AM
Problems with GFCI Outlet FieldersChoice Electrical 11 01-04-2009 01:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.