Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2008, 07:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

New GFCI Breaker trips with no load


Just replaced a standard 15A breaker because three of the outlets on the circuit are in a bathrrom. The other four outlets are in an adjacent bedroom. With the old breaker (re)installed, I tested all outlets with a GRT-500 circuit tester - all show that they are correctly wired. Yet when I install the GFCI breaker, it trips instantly even with nothing plugged into any of the outlets. WHat am I missing?

bmurphywa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 07:17 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

New GFCI Breaker trips with no load


Is this circuit part of a multi-wire branch circuit (shared neutral)?

if not

Did you connect the circuit neutral to the breaker and the tail from the breaker to the neutral bar?

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 07:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Default

New GFCI Breaker trips with no load


Thanks for your quick response. This circuit has its own neutral. That neutral (white wire) is attached to the GFCI breaker. The hot (black wire) is also attached to the breaker. The pigtail from the breaker is attached to the neutral strip inside the breaker panel. I think this is correct. Any thoughts? Thanks again.
bmurphywa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 07:25 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

New GFCI Breaker trips with no load


Go to each device on the circuit and check the wiring. You may have a white touching a neutral somewhere. This will instantly trip a GFI.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 07:32 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Default

New GFCI Breaker trips with no load


OK. Just to make sure I understand your comment. You say a white touching a neutral - maybe I'm misunderstanding - I thought white was neutral. Am I looking for a white (neutral) touching a ground (bare copper)?
bmurphywa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 08:37 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

New GFCI Breaker trips with no load


Yes. A neutral touching ground on the load side of a GFI will trip it instantly.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 08:48 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6
Default

New GFCI Breaker trips with no load


OK. I'm checking all outlets now.

bmurphywa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New GFCI Breaker Tripping w/ 3-way Flourescents BigJimmy Electrical 8 12-29-2008 02:29 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM
20 Amp Breaker only trips once in a while panhandlion Electrical 14 11-26-2007 08:36 PM
Main Breaker Trips Repeatedly kkf Electrical 7 06-18-2007 04:31 PM
GFCI breaker problems bwoo Electrical 5 12-09-2006 02:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.