Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-21-2008, 09:11 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

new garage - striplights


i have finished building a timber garage ,now wiring up . so far 2 banks of surface mount sockets and 2.5mm cable run in , now the striplights . can i feed the 2 lights straight from a j/box ? how do i put the switch into the circuit please ?

gramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 09:19 AM   #2
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 0
Default

new garage - striplights


Wiring in a switch is easy, but first I would ask where you are located? The use of metric measurements suggests you are outside the U.S. and I don't want to say something that isn't going to make sense to you, like use XX color wire (they are probably different if you are outside the US).

__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 09:21 AM   #3
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Rewards Points: 0
Default

new garage - striplights


The cleanest way would be to have power to the switchbox first, then continue the circuit to striplight 1 and then 2. The switch will control both lights together. The ground and neutral (white) connections will go unbroken through to both lights, the hot (black) wire will be switched, then go on to the lights.
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 12:40 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

new garage - striplights


Ahh .,, [ rolling up my shirt sleeve ]

OK.,, here ya do at the Junction box location.[ just remember to disconnect the power first before ya mess around with this]

the cable from power soruce the power netrual [ bleu wire ] just hook it on the choc block and set screw it.

now here a little tricky part get the 2.5mm2 cable take the blue wire [ from the point switching device ] tie the bleu wire to brown power wire [ it will be wise idea to remark it or tape it if the UK regualtion allowed ] choc block it.
then take the brown wire from switch point and tie it to other brown wire to the luminaire[s] and make sure you get all the earth [ ground wire aka green with yellow stripes ] tied together.

Basically it the same as USA/Canada system but diffrent colours that all.

Merci, Marc

if you going to remark it use the gray tape for switched live circuit [ this is a UK colour code ]
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mold in detached garage jkrodger Building & Construction 15 05-01-2009 01:46 PM
double car garage slightly uneven... mcvane Building & Construction 6 11-25-2007 08:41 AM
Crazy Garage Extension, Building over blacktop?!?! commissure General DIY Discussions 4 09-13-2007 11:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.