New Garage - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2008, 04:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New garage


Im building a new garage and need some electrical advice. First I'm wanting to eventually put a welder in it and want to know if 100 amp is good enough. Second the garage is about 40 feet from my meter and I want to bury the line, how deep should I bury it, what size wire to use, and what should I cover the wire with.

Any advise would be helpful

Advertisement

deere2440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 04:20 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,402
Rewards Points: 2,466
Default

New garage


http://www.nfpa.org/freecodes/free_a....asp?id=7008SB

Advertisement

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 06:01 PM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New garage


100 amp would be adequate unless you are using an industrial sized welder and have a lot of additional loads.

wire size #3 copper (USE or THHW) or #1 aluminum ( USE or THHW)

if direct burial- 24"

rigid metal conduit- 6 "

PVC conduit- 18"
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 06:41 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New garage


Thanks for that input, it helps a lot!!!
deere2440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 07:23 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New garage


Do not forget you must have a main breaker panel or use a disconnect. You also will need a grounding electrode system and that now includes tying to the rebar in the foundation.

It helps to install a conduit through the forms when pouring the footer. Be sure to bring that up through the floor before you pour the floor.

Oh, and don't even bother with anything other than a 4 wire feed. A 3 wire may still be legal in your area (2005 code- ok, 2008 code-not) but it is simply less hassle to simply put the 4 wire in to start with.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 08:19 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New garage


That is great info! I plan on a deep footer and havent planed on rebar in the foundation. The footer is going to be at least 30" deep and 1' wide all the way around the garage with the floor poured inside of that seperately. Plans are subject to change if needed. I am still learning how to do it the right way.
deere2440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 08:32 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New garage


Also, when I get to wiring the light/outlets should I use 12-2 with ground or 14-2 with ground?
deere2440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 08:35 PM   #8
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Rewards Points: 250
Default

New garage


For residential I use 14-2wg for lights and 12-2wg for receptacles but in a garage I would probably just go with all 12-2.
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 08:41 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New garage


Quote:
but in a garage I would probably just go with all 12-2
That is what I was thinking.
deere2440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 08:42 PM   #10
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

New garage


Brick garages are sweet.
Another thing to remember is that the largest size panel you can put in your garage is a function of the size of your main.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 08:50 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New garage


I think that a 100 amp box is plenty for my garage. I bought a Square D Home line 100 amp box with main and 5 breakers today. I dont need it for awhile but it was on sale for 50 bucks. I like the square d's. I replaced my old Federal Pacific box in my house last year with a square d.
deere2440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 02:50 AM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New garage


the other thing if you are on 08 code cycle you have everything in the garage to be GFCI'ed that including the lighting circuit and Garage door opener.

the 240 volts equiment is not need a GFCI unless the manufacter required for it. [ i doubt it but only one i know they do use the GFCI on 240 v unit is pressure washer that is the item i know of.]

Merci, Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 02:28 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New garage


Quote:
wire size #3 copper (USE or THHW) or #1 aluminum ( USE or THHW)

if direct burial- 24"

rigid metal conduit- 6 "

PVC conduit- 18"
What way should I go copper or aluminum? Should I use conduit, if so what size?
deere2440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 06:47 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New garage


Anyone have any preferences? Conduit is on sale this week and I am thinking plastic. Just because it sounds easier to work with. Copper or aluminum?
deere2440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 08:24 PM   #15
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,402
Rewards Points: 2,466
Default

New garage


Check with local codes.

Advertisement

gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mold in detached garage jkrodger Building & Construction 15 05-01-2009 02:46 PM
double car garage slightly uneven... mcvane Building & Construction 6 11-25-2007 09:41 AM
Crazy Garage Extension, Building over blacktop?!?! commissure General DIY Discussions 4 09-13-2007 12:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts