Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-23-2008, 09:18 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Share |
Default

New Furnace, Code Compliance?


So I have decided to go ahead and at least wire in a new separate circuit for the furnace and re-wiring of the main panel (its a mess). I am also considering running a 20 amp 12 gauge run for just the bathroom outlets downstairs. Can this 20 amp circuit for the basement bath outlets (lights will stay on another circuit as those are all wired up with 14/2) also be used for the upstairs bathroom outlet while those lights are also on a separate circuit? So essentially the outlets only of two bathrooms to share the same 20 amp circuit. Currently, the entire upstairs bathroom (lights and outlets) are on its own separate 15amp circuit (which is a plus from the way it was wired before).

I think at this point it would be pointless to upgrade to a 200 amp service and panel, though it would be better to have a bigger main panel. Most of the wires have been kept a little long in the panel, so an upgrade to a bigger panel wouldn't be that hard later on.

I have figured out a way to add some extra circuits to the main panel by moving the double pole breaker that feeds the sub panel to a spot that doesn't accept the 1/2" breakers. Then I should have enough spaces to do what I need/want to do in terms of the new circuits.

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 09:31 PM   #17
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

New Furnace, Code Compliance?


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
Can this 20 amp circuit for the basement bath outlets (lights will stay on another circuit as those are all wired up with 14/2) also be used for the upstairs bathroom outlet while those lights are also on a separate circuit?
Absolutely.

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier furnace help code 13 mudtruck HVAC 10 11-23-2013 02:24 PM
Carrier Furnace help code 31 fauxjaux HVAC 6 04-22-2010 10:36 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.