Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2008, 09:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new flouresent fixture strobing


just put in a new flouresent fixture. and when we turned it on it started to strobe very fast. any idea what would have caused this???? any body else got any ideas???


Last edited by rodger williams; 02-03-2008 at 09:39 PM.
rodger williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 09:23 PM   #2
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

new flouresent fixture strobing


Not trying to be funny, but does eveyone at your house notice? Some people are very sensitive to the flickering of these lights. Also, if you've installed it in an unheated area of the home and the ballast isn't rated for this application, it may happen. Lastly it may be a piece of junk and you'll have to replace it. Don't worry, it's happened to me too.

goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 09:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new flouresent fixture strobing


no it is in the kitchen and is brand new the other ballist in old light craped out completly and it is doing the stobe thing not to fast when i have only one bulb in it and very fast when both are in it. any opther ideas
rodger williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 10:16 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,151
Rewards Points: 518
Default

new flouresent fixture strobing


Did you let the bulb run for a few minutes to see if that helped, if not maybe the bulbs just have to warm up.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 01:14 AM   #5
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

new flouresent fixture strobing


Did he fix it?


I hate to wear this out.... moved into a new place............







Looose neutral fixed my sh!!ty Flouresents..........................
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 01:45 AM   #6
Sparrky
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

new flouresent fixture strobing


I didnt see that the matter was resolved? or am I wrong ? . .make sure this fluorescent light is NOT hooked up to any dimmer switch . . . .

they do strobe a bit but it shouldnt be noticable to most

if I can help . .won4thewoad@yahoo.com

Kingsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A faulty bulb or a faulty fixture? don54 Electrical 5 12-25-2007 05:38 PM
double-ended halogen fixture bulbs stop working watt-ever-ny Electrical 6 11-20-2007 06:25 PM
New Ceiling fixture Wiring Question rsteps Electrical 4 07-12-2007 08:51 AM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM
find switch to control outdoor light fixture CaymanAg Electrical 1 07-10-2005 09:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.