Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2007, 10:58 AM   #1
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,770
Share |
Default

New electrical in renovation


I doing a renovation on my house and I plan on rewiring everything. I have about 2/3s of the house down to studs and am living in the last 1/3. Currently there is only 1 outlet/room so my plan is to overkill and put an outlet every 6 feet and have each room on its own breaker.

The second floor will have a total of 6 circuits.
Bathroom 2-20A GFCI & 1-15A
Bedrooms 3-15A AFCI, I'm going to power the entry way interior/exterior lights, and smokes with the smallest-bedroom circuit.
Does this sound reasonable?

It's a relatively small house so I plan on using 2x3s on nonstructural walls to gain an extra inch of living space. When I run electrical through the 2x3 walls do I need a nailing plate on both sides? Is there going to be a problem fitting boxes in these walls?

Am I allowed to add 2 outlets in the same stud bay on each side of a shared wall?

Does it matter what height the holes are for the wires in the studs? I was thinking around 2' so that I can keep it consistent throughout the house, be able to clear windows, and I think this is an area least likely to be nailed with picture hangers and such.

When adding wire in insulated walls, should I go through the insulation or on top of the vapor barrier?

Finally, for now, the panel is in the basement and is on the side of the house that is not demo'ed yet. I need to find a way to get from the cellar to the second floor. The wall that currently contains the existing wires is planned for demolition so following those wires up won't work. Is there anything I should look for or look out for? Can I run the wires next to the chimney?

TIA
Cliff


Last edited by Clutchcargo; 04-04-2007 at 07:42 PM. Reason: clearity
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 07:43 PM   #2
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,770
Default

New electrical in renovation


TTT
Any ideas?
Thanks

Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 10:32 AM   #3
Handyguy
 
Brik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 803
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik
Default

New electrical in renovation


I'm not a pro but I'll take a stab at your questions....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clutchcargo View Post
I doing a renovation on my house and I plan on rewiring everything. I have about 2/3s of the house down to studs and am living in the last 1/3. Currently there is only 1 outlet/room so my plan is to overkill and put an outlet every 6 feet and have each room on its own breaker.
Check with wife, if you have one, I did something similar and aesthetically its not the greatest.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clutchcargo View Post
The second floor will have a total of 6 circuits.
Bathroom 2-20A GFCI & 1-15A
Bedrooms 3-15A AFCI, I'm going to power the entry way interior/exterior lights, and smokes with the smallest-bedroom circuit.
Does this sound reasonable?
yes
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clutchcargo View Post
It's a relatively small house so I plan on using 2x3s on nonstructural walls to gain an extra inch of living space.
OK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clutchcargo View Post
When I run electrical through the 2x3 walls do I need a nailing plate on both sides?
Its a good idea if this wall will be finished both sides. maybe not a requirement but better safe than sorry.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clutchcargo View Post
Is there going to be a problem fitting boxes in these walls?
No. Personally I like to use the largest box possible, makes things easier.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clutchcargo View Post
Am I allowed to add 2 outlets in the same stud bay on each side of a shared wall?
Yes, back to back may be impossible with 2x3 walls though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clutchcargo View Post
Does it matter what height the holes are for the wires in the studs?
No - If 2' is convenient for you then go for it. I go about 12" above my boxes so I can staple within 6" or so of the box. I snap chalk line so all my holes line up. It makes pulling wire easier.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clutchcargo View Post
I was thinking around 2' so that I can keep it consistent throughout the house, be able to clear windows, and I think this is an area least likely to be nailed with picture hangers and such.
yup
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clutchcargo View Post
When adding wire in insulated walls, should I go through the insulation or on top of the vapor barrier?
Through the insulation. Actually you wire first then insulate. if using batts you can split them so insulatin is behind and in front.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clutchcargo View Post
Finally, for now, the panel is in the basement and is on the side of the house that is not demo'ed yet. I need to find a way to get from the cellar to the second floor. The wall that currently contains the existing wires is planned for demolition so following those wires up won't work. Is there anything I should look for or look out for? Can I run the wires next to the chimney?
Sounds like you want to find an easy chase from new work to elec panel. Not sure about chimney. Fire blocking may be a concern as well as securing the wires. If you need to demo a little more to have a decent, easy to navigate, wire chase I would do it now.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clutchcargo View Post
TIA
Cliff
NP

I didn't give any thought to things you may have missed in your plan. Nothing jumps out as really bad. Good luck.
Brik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the ICC Electrical Code? Chuck Electrical 7 02-20-2013 10:19 AM
Subpanel Questions/Running electrical to garage. FlyGuy Electrical 28 05-24-2008 10:50 PM
Electrical continuity Tool Rze Electrical 11 10-01-2006 04:10 PM
How is electrical inspector doing the inspection... KUIPORNG Electrical 2 08-15-2006 08:46 PM
Electrical receptacle replacement question sherlock Electrical 7 05-20-2005 03:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.