New Electrical Panel Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2009, 08:12 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

New Electrical Panel Box


We have a cabin in the woods and there is a discussion as to where to place the new electrical panel box. The current panel box was located in the bathroom. We now wish to move it out of there. One suggestion was placing it directly above the stove in the kitchen which is less than 6 feet from the kitchen sink and one suggestion was in the attic.

Are either of these locations a bad idea?

Advertisement

criehl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 08:28 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

New Electrical Panel Box


Uh YEAH! VERY bad!

The sink is absolutely NOT an issue at all. Think about it, breaker panels are installed outdoors. How could the sink possibly be an issue???

The issue is clearances.
Behind the stove of about the worst suggestion I have ever heard. Besides being completely blocked there is the heat issue.
The attic is not automatically bad, as long as clearances are met. This is usually hard in a typical attic. A walk-up full height attic is fine if you can get the 6'6" height requirement.

Moving the panel means you need to meet current clearances. This is 36" in front, 30" wide and 6'6" height in that whole 30x36 space.
The panel does NOT have to be centered in the 30" wide space.

Oh, and it CANNOT go in a clothes/storage closet or back in the bathroom.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 09:31 AM   #3
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New Electrical Panel Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by criehl View Post
We have a cabin in the woods and there is a discussion as to where to place the new electrical panel box. The current panel box was located in the bathroom. We now wish to move it out of there. One suggestion was placing it directly above the stove in the kitchen which is less than 6 feet from the kitchen sink and one suggestion was in the attic.

Are either of these locations a bad idea?
Yeah, Petey pretty much summed that up. Why not locate it outside by the meter? A weatherproof 3R box would be required, but it would certainly solve the location problem. Convert the old box into a junction.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 12:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New Electrical Panel Box


Put it outside like we do in AZ.

My cabin during reconstruction.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 12:53 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

New Electrical Panel Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Put it outside like we do in AZ.

My cabin during reconstruction.

That is a beautiful cabin. What a view. I would never want to leave. Oh yea, back on subject. OP see picture? Do the same.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 12:57 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

New Electrical Panel Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Uh YEAH! VERY bad!
The issue is clearances.
Behind the stove of about the worst suggestion I have ever heard. Besides being completely blocked there is the heat issue. .
The OP said above the stove, not behind the stove. Still a bad idea.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 01:16 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New Electrical Panel Box


http://s8.photobucket.com/albums/a8/...t=MOV01786.flv

I don't have a wide enough lense to really show off this place.







Sunrise.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 01:20 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New Electrical Panel Box


I'ver never understood breaker panels outside
Who wants to go outside in the rain or snow to reset a breaker?

Nice pics, not what I think of when I hear AZ
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 01:23 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

New Electrical Panel Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
The OP said above the stove, not behind the stove. Still a bad idea.
I guess when I picture this I still see it as behind the stove, if not actually hidden behind it.
See what I mean.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 01:23 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

New Electrical Panel Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post

Nice pics, not what I think of when I hear AZ
For real. Looks exactly like upstate NY.

Nice location 220.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 01:42 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New Electrical Panel Box


I have reset a breaker in my houses maybe 5 times in my 57 years. What kind of wiring do you have in your place

The meter/combo panel is simply an easier installation and doesn't take up any real estate inside. Install enough circuits and you won't be resetting any breakers
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 01:46 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

New Electrical Panel Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
I have reset a breaker in my houses maybe 5 times in my 57 years. What kind of wiring do you have in your place

The meter/combo panel is simply an easier installation and doesn't take up any real estate inside. Install enough circuits and you won't be resetting any breakers
While I do agree, we have basements and I'll take the panel down there ANY day over having it outside.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 02:00 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New Electrical Panel Box


Ya like to go down there, have a few beers and bond with it?
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 05:58 PM   #14
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 525
Rewards Points: 518
Default

New Electrical Panel Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Ya like to go down there, have a few beers and bond with it?
You definitely can't have it in the bathroom. The kitchen is ok, but not behind the stove, as others have said. You need three feet of clearance in front of the panel. I had a small apartment about 10 years ago and the breaker box was in the kitchen next to the refrigerator. I'd try to put it there if you can.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 07:52 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New Electrical Panel Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
I have reset a breaker in my houses maybe 5 times in my 57 years. What kind of wiring do you have in your place

The meter/combo panel is simply an easier installation and doesn't take up any real estate inside. Install enough circuits and you won't be resetting any breakers
I have 80a of Christmas decorations that are up for about 2 months. Usually just the GFCI kicks in rain. But during setup I do kick a breaker now & then
Not so much since I now have 8 dedicated circuits

Now my wife - the 12a vac, and her hair dryer
That's another story
And it did take me a while to chase down all the wiring in this house (from the 50's), figure out what went where & was overloading what
Kitchen was on one circuit including the fridge
Plus my work area has been in the basement for the past 5 years waiting on the new garage



No way on behind the stove, very bad idea & doesn't meet code for clearances

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 11:39 PM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 03:57 PM
Electrical Panel "cut-in" question Todd-sta Electrical 52 12-04-2008 12:07 AM
Help with electrical sub panel chrismc77 Electrical 6 08-12-2007 03:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts