Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-20-2011, 08:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New electrical lines to whirlpool bathtub


Our new bathtub calls for a separate dedicated electrical line for both the heater and the pump. Since we won't be using the gfi outlet in the bathroom at the same time as the heater or the pump, do you think it would be feasible for us to run the outlet on the same line as the heater to one 15 amp breaker, and then put the pump on its one 15 amp breaker?

Thanks for any help / suggestions!
-Cheryl & Bill

zimmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 08:23 PM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New electrical lines to whirlpool bathtub


Quote:
Originally Posted by zimmech View Post
Our new bathtub calls for a separate dedicated electrical line for both the heater and the pump. Since we won't be using the gfi outlet in the bathroom at the same time as the heater or the pump, do you think it would be feasible for us to run the outlet on the same line as the heater to one 15 amp breaker, and then put the pump on its one 15 amp breaker?

Thanks for any help / suggestions!
-Cheryl & Bill
No

1. The instructions call for dedicated circuits.

2. The heater is probably 12 amps or so.

Use a 12/3 cable and a two pole breaker or handle ties on 2 singles.

Also you will need GFCI protection. Receptacles are the cheapest. They must be readily accessible/easily accessed.


Last edited by Code05; 08-20-2011 at 08:26 PM.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 08:26 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New electrical lines to whirlpool bathtub


You may not be useing that GFI outlet at the same time as the tub's heater or pump but I would be inclined to doubt that the GFI is the only thing on that circuit. You most likely have other things drawing on that circuit. You say you still need to run a line for the pump, so you might as well run a new circuit for the heater as well. If you are low on space in your panel see if their are mini breakers or tandems available for your panel.
LiLGhettoSmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 09:27 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New electrical lines to whirlpool bathtub


We have plenty of room in our breaker box - we just upgraded from overloaded 60 to underused 150 amp service. The bathroom is currently on the same line as the hallway and one bedroom, we found, but our plan was to run a new gfi dedicated line to the pump and an outlet or heater and outlet, and then a dedicated gfi line to the heater or pump. We purchased 12/2 line.

Knowing that, do you think we should still have a line for the heater, and one for the pump, with nothing else on those breakers?

Thanks!
-Cheryl & Bill
zimmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 09:41 PM   #5
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New electrical lines to whirlpool bathtub


You have to install a dedicated line for whatever the manufacturer states, there's no right way to avoid it. If they call for two dedicated circuits, then run 2.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 09:47 PM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New electrical lines to whirlpool bathtub


You have the 12/2, so run 3 circuits.

one each for the pump, heater and required bathroom receptacle.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 09:55 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New electrical lines to whirlpool bathtub


Thank you for your responses. We will run dedicated lines for each
zimmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2011, 10:01 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 75
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New electrical lines to whirlpool bathtub


I here there is a 12-2-2 cable out there. This one cable would give you
to individual lines. It contains 4 insulated copper wire. Black / Red and
two whites and one bare copper grounding conductor.

You two cable mention is okay, too.

Ranger31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
slow hot water lines sobro Plumbing 3 11-05-2010 10:44 AM
Changing from Electrical Cook Top to Electrical Range EkS Electrical 24 06-22-2010 10:43 AM
Whirlpool GFCI circuit info conflict. 3detailer Electrical 29 05-17-2010 09:12 AM
Why move/replace heat pump refrigerant lines? EdLank HVAC 1 05-09-2010 05:02 AM
Sub Panel Near Bathtub argentum13 Electrical 6 05-02-2010 07:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.