Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2010, 08:27 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

new electric in old house


Hanging new drywall over old horsehair plaster. People are telling me to run the new electric between the horsehair and drywall rather than fishing. Any suggestions?

w36cowgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 08:39 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

new electric in old house


It should be fished
You don't want someone driving a nail/screw into it
And you should removed all the old plaster if you are putting nerw drywall up
Then do the wiring while the walls are open

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 09:13 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
Default

new electric in old house


I would love to remove all the old plaster but each floor of the house is approx. 1400sq ft and i have 3 floors to finish. Trying to save some money and run some of the wiring myself. The old wire is knob and tube. Not an electrician but was once married to one. lol. so i have a general idea. Want to add additional outlets just not sure how to junction them. Electrically life would be much simpler to just rip out the plaster. Know of anywhere i can get good info on running the wiring myself? The electrician gave me a cost of 9K without ceiling fixtures. Really trying to cut back that cost. I have a roof to replace.... drywall to put up.... new plumbing throughout.... and two new bathrooms to put in. Lots of work and i want to try to be in by November. Not afraid of hard work but not rich either. lol
w36cowgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 09:28 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

new electric in old house


There is a lot of work to completely rewiring a house
You will need to meet all new codes

You can't add on to K&T, so it needs to be new runs
The wire can't be sandwiched between the plaster & the new drywall
Wire must be located 1.25" back on a stud
So you would need to fur out the walls w/2x2's
Then run the wire on the plaster walls

Its considered a hack job to not remove plaster 1st
You can't use old work boxes when this is done
I have one room where they put 3/8" over the plaster
I'll be gutting the room to redo it

If there isn't insulation in the walls that is another good reason to gut the walls
Rather then do a hack job I'd do one floor the right way
Move in & then work on the rest
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 09:49 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
Default

new electric in old house


thank you so much for your advice. i will do as you say and just take my time and rip out the old plaster. thank you
w36cowgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:15 AM   #6
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,770
Default

new electric in old house


The house flippers take the approach of skinning the old plaster and lathe (throw some lipstick on that pig). This adds a lot of extra weight to the wall.
With that said, once you open the walls, you are bound to find a lot of things that need addressing such as headers that should be there but aren't. Then you might decide to move or remove a wall and add a beam. Then hang a beam off of another beam. Why not add an extra bathroom. Move the stairs. Make the kitchen bigger. Add a garage.
I started by tearing out the old plaster and lathe then once the walls are open, your imagination takes off. It's a slippery slope and I slid all the way to the bottom.
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.

Last edited by Clutchcargo; 03-23-2010 at 10:17 AM.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 01:50 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 445
Default

new electric in old house


Quote:
Originally Posted by Clutchcargo View Post
The house flippers take the approach of skinning the old plaster and lathe (throw some lipstick on that pig). This adds a lot of extra weight to the wall.
With that said, once you open the walls, you are bound to find a lot of things that need addressing such as headers that should be there but aren't. Then you might decide to move or remove a wall and add a beam. Then hang a beam off of another beam. Why not add an extra bathroom. Move the stairs. Make the kitchen bigger. Add a garage.
I started by tearing out the old plaster and lathe then once the walls are open, your imagination takes off. It's a slippery slope and I slid all the way to the bottom.
i'm going through that right now. The wall is coming down, so it became a good time to upgrade this and that, and make changes to this and that. Snowball effect...

Listen to scuba_dave, his advice is correct.


Last edited by acerunner; 03-24-2010 at 01:53 AM.
acerunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 04:45 AM
Foam Board on exterior of above grade house Sheldon General DIY Discussions 6 12-08-2009 04:05 PM
Attic Fan AND Whole House Fan PapaGnome HVAC 6 02-15-2009 02:28 PM
Is a 40 Gallon water heater electric enough for a 1 bath house (2 people). twilightcall Plumbing 6 08-06-2008 09:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.