Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-18-2011, 08:49 AM   #1

Share |

New electric dryer install trips breaker

A new electric dryer was installed in our new vacation home about four months ago. We don't use it often. This past weekend, it tripped the breaker twice, after running only a few minutes. The second time I was nearby when it happened and there was a very faint burning smell in the breaker box. Not good! For logistical reasons, getting the builder to send an electrician out is an inconvenience for us, but I'll obviously go that route if that's what it takes. Was just wondering if anyone has some good theories on what could be wrong. The breaker is 30 amps, which I imagine is sufficient. I'm thinking (a) bad connection at the breaker or at the dryer, (b) miswiring, or (c) inadequate wire gauge. But, naturally, I'm no expert. :-)

cortell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 08:59 AM   #2
I=E/R

Although a 30 amp connection is pretty much standard for a dryer, you should verify what the dryer requires.
Who connected the cord to the dryer?
#10 wire is used with a 30 amp circuit. If the house is new then the cable going from the panel to the dryer receptacle will most likely be orange, but an undersized cable won't cause a breaker to trip.

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 09:02 AM   #3

Yeah. I plan on checking the manual and making sure it requires no more than 30amps. The builder's crew installed the dryer (not an electrician, though an electrician obviously ran the cable and installed the receptacle). I'll also double check for an orange cable, though it sounds like one of my theories is wrong.
Old 08-18-2011, 09:08 AM   #4
I=E/R