New Electric Dryer Is Blowing Breaker! - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2008, 06:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New electric dryer is blowing breaker!


I'm going to try to be concise. I will most likely fail.

Got a new electric dryer. It replaced a gas dryer that was as old as the home ('93/'94) we think. The electrical service for a dryer appears to have been installed when the home was built. (The breaker for it, which has been off since we moved in a year and a half ago, is in the middle of the breaker panel with other original breakers installed below it.) The dryer is rated for 220V at 30A/breaker. The dryer repair guy stuck a clamp-around ammeter around both hot lines, one was pulling 20.5A and the other was 23.8 (after the dryer started up on the hottest setting). He said the dryer is fine. Both breakers are rated for 30A (according to the imprint on the end of the switch, and are two full-size connected breakers, as any 220 breaker setup should be. After the dryer has been on with Regular or Hot as the temp setting for a third of a cycle, the breakers will trip. Guaranteed. Immediately after tripping, the breakers are very hot to touch. The wire run between the 4-prong outlet and the breaker panel is 10/3 according to the shield on the wires connected to the breakers, and is run through conduit from panel to receptacle the entire way.

There.

After all that, should I replace the breakers, replace the plug, replace the 10/3, or replace the whole mess?

Advertisement

minameismud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 06:15 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New electric dryer is blowing breaker!


You have either a bad breaker, or bad connection on the breaker or buss bars, or both.

IF your buss bars are corroded or burned, a new breaker will not solve this problem.

I'd start with a new breaker and go from there.

Advertisement

kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:14 PM   #3
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,639
Rewards Points: 1,072
Default

New electric dryer is blowing breaker!


That current is just about right for a dryer, I'd bet a lot on the breaker being bad. They don't like to be in the off position for a long time, especially if you live in a humid climate.

Rob

P.S. A 30 amp breaker and #10 wire is the correct size for a dryer.
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:41 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New electric dryer is blowing breaker!


Replace the breaker CAREFULLY.

Turn OFF the power to your panel!!



It will probably be less than $10 at The Home Depot/Lowes.

If you die, it will cost a lot more.


Be CAREFUL.

Last edited by 220/221; 09-12-2008 at 07:44 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 11:42 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New electric dryer is blowing breaker!


haha, yeah, milwaukee can be pretty humid (it's not the tropics, but it's not exactly arizona either). makes sense, and to 220/221, i've added a couple new circuits to my basement (cause the builders put half the house + basement + garage ON THE SAME 15A CIRCUIT), so i know enough to kill the mains before sticking anything inside the panel.
minameismud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 09:47 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New electric dryer is blowing breaker!


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
You have either a bad breaker, or bad connection on the breaker or buss bars, or both.

IF your buss bars are corroded or burned, a new breaker will not solve this problem.

I'd start with a new breaker and go from there.
After thinking about this for a bit, dumb question: is there visible evidence when a buss bar is corroded? ie. blackened, etc.?
minameismud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 10:42 PM   #7
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,639
Rewards Points: 1,072
Default

New electric dryer is blowing breaker!


When the breaker-to-bus connection goes bad, it's usually obvious.

Most of the time, the bus is discolored, and pitted from arcing. Sometimes, it's nearly impossible to even get the old breaker out,because it either won't slide on the bad bus, or it has welded itself to the bus.

Rob
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 11:45 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New electric dryer is blowing breaker!


Just a check-in to say I'm still alive after swapping the breaker, and it appears that it was the breaker causing the problem. The dryer ran a full cycle through at the highest heat setting without dying. Thanks!

Advertisement

minameismud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Dryer wiring/plug question SpaceCrawler Electrical 6 08-26-2008 05:33 PM
Gas vs. Electric Dryer Jrr1099 Appliances 1 03-24-2008 03:40 PM
Problem with ELECTRIC DRYER plugs SpaceCrawler Appliances 6 06-03-2007 11:21 AM
Electric dryer stops mt232 Appliances 7 05-25-2007 03:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts