New Dryer With 30 Amp Plug But A 50 Amp Oulet Let What Can Be Done - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2010, 05:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new dryer with 30 amp plug but a 50 amp oulet let what can be done


new dryer with 30 amp plug but a 50 amp oulet let what can be done . please help what can be done besides paying an electrician to come out and mess with my 50 amp socket.outlet and fuse box

Advertisement

dontesha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 05:16 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

new dryer with 30 amp plug but a 50 amp oulet let what can be done


Change the breaker and receptacle to match the 30 amp plug!

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
dontesha (10-19-2010)
Old 10-19-2010, 05:19 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new dryer with 30 amp plug but a 50 amp oulet let what can be done


what will happen if its plugged in as is
can it be at least plugged into there, or will it mess up the dryer
dontesha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 05:21 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

new dryer with 30 amp plug but a 50 amp oulet let what can be done


It will not fit!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 05:27 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new dryer with 30 amp plug but a 50 amp oulet let what can be done


o ok , the people would delivered my dryer today didnt say that they just made it seem like itll burn out dryer motor. but then other people were saying it didnt sound right becuase less amps going into more amps should still work/ i didnt know it was about size.
its makes sense now if it wont fit. lol they couldve saved me from my confusion . I was scared to try to plug in to see if its in fear of getting electricuted. They reffered me to a handy man and it seemed kind of fishy so i ?d it. i guess i should just pay him on let him change it out , i need a dryer bad. Thanks again!
dontesha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 05:32 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

new dryer with 30 amp plug but a 50 amp oulet let what can be done


Stay away from a handyman and hire an electrician.
You may need more than just changing the receptacle and breaker.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 09:07 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

new dryer with 30 amp plug but a 50 amp oulet let what can be done


Quote:
Originally Posted by dontesha View Post
o ok , the people would delivered my dryer today didnt say that they just made it seem like itll burn out dryer motor. but then other people were saying it didnt sound right becuase less amps going into more amps should still work/ i didnt know it was about size.
its makes sense now if it wont fit. lol they couldve saved me from my confusion . I was scared to try to plug in to see if its in fear of getting electricuted. They reffered me to a handy man and it seemed kind of fishy so i ?d it. i guess i should just pay him on let him change it out , i need a dryer bad. Thanks again!

I am serious just don't hire a handyman whom is NOT qualifed to work on electrical system this is more than just a basic item to dealt with it.

A qualifed electrician will determed what is safe and what not.

Merci.
Marc

Advertisement

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug dgbunk Electrical 9 10-19-2010 02:07 PM
Dryer Plug - where is the ground? hellothere123 Electrical 7 09-13-2010 11:29 AM
Installing a 4 prong dryer plug Amandamayes Appliances 4 07-16-2010 02:17 PM
Can you change a 220v plug on a dryer clueless_03 Electrical 6 08-30-2009 02:39 AM
Running new dryer wire...but dryer is three plug currently. RyanD Electrical 7 08-07-2009 03:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts