Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-24-2010, 01:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 50
Share |
Default

New dishwasher wiring


OK so my house doesn't have a dishwasher and I am in the process of installing one. As for the electrical I am going the direct wiring route. Since the dishwasher has it own junction box can i simply drill a hole through the floor in the next cabinets over and drop the wiring into my basement and route it to the panel or do I have to Install a old work box in the wall and just extend the romex to the dishwasher? I'm not sure if all states have different requirements but if it does I live in Bellevue Ne and looking at the website I didnt see anything related to this and the office is closed today to ask? Thanks in advance

Holt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 04:39 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,845
Default

New dishwasher wiring


Directly to the DW is acceptable in most instances unless local ordinances prohibit it.

brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 08:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 50
Default

New dishwasher wiring


I really appreciate the response. I am going to drill a hole through the side cabinet floor and run the power through there. Now all I have to find a 10 foot drainage and supply line.
Holt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 08:52 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Exclamation

New dishwasher wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Holt View Post
OK so my house doesn't have a dishwasher and I am in the process of installing one. As for the electrical I am going the direct wiring route. Since the dishwasher has it own junction box can i simply drill a hole through the floor in the next cabinets over and drop the wiring into my basement and route it to the panel or do I have to Install a old work box in the wall and just extend the romex to the dishwasher? I'm not sure if all states have different requirements but if it does I live in Bellevue Ne and looking at the website I didnt see anything related to this and the office is closed today to ask? Thanks in advance
It's OK to connect directly to the breaker/s. But you'll need a cutoff switch "Within Sight" in the area of the dishwasher!?!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 09:00 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 50
Default

New dishwasher wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
It's OK to connect directly to the breaker/s. But you'll need a cutoff switch "Within Sight" in the area of the dishwasher!?!!
Really? this is the first I've heard about a switch. Not questioning you but this is news to me. What if I install a plug style outlet , Do I still need to make it a switch outlet.
Also if I'm doing a direct wire from the breaker to the dishwasher how do install a switch if it a direct wire. Technically its not a direct connection for
say.
Holt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 09:09 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

New dishwasher wiring


Check with your local codes if the switch is needed
I've never had a switch for any dishwasher around here
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 09:15 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Smile

New dishwasher wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Holt View Post
Really? this is the first I've heard about a switch. Not questioning you but this is news to me. What if I install a plug style outlet , Do I still need to make it a switch outlet.
Also if I'm doing a direct wire from the breaker to the dishwasher how do install a switch if it a direct wire. Technically its not a direct connection for
say.
OK I should have stipulated (when a switch is required) It's NOT required on a residential dishwasher! My mistake. But. where (a switch is) required, the wiring from the breaker goes directly to the cutoff switch and from there to the appliance. (No brainer?!)
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 01:48 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

New dishwasher wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Check with your local codes if the switch is needed
I've never had a switch for any dishwasher around here
I have see it in State of Wisconsin { there are few local code do require it } especially if hard wired but for cord and plug verion it kinda toss up all it depending on the AJH

Merci,Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dishwasher wiring question jimithing78 Electrical 6 05-11-2010 06:03 PM
Wiring a dishwasher brettadam18us Electrical 2 03-20-2010 09:19 AM
Wiring gone bad??? Dishwasher issue beginnerDIY Electrical 38 09-06-2009 07:30 AM
Exposed dishwasher wiring secutanudu Electrical 15 04-20-2009 10:44 AM
Dishwasher Wiring mcpusc Electrical 1 04-28-2008 08:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.