Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-18-2010, 11:01 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 114
Share |
Default

New clamp meter question


I just picked up a new clamp meter today from the supply house. It is a true rms meter and is rated for 600 amps. When I go to test ac voltage the meter displays mv and the numbers jump around when the leads are not touching anything. On my regular open jaw greenlee meter which was alot less expensive when i am testing ac voltage and nothing attached to the probes the display reads zero. Is the meter i bought bad or is this normal?

Chevyman30571 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 11:51 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 114
Default

New clamp meter question


I just read somewhere that because it is autoranging this occurs. If i short the test leads it zero's out.

Chevyman30571 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 01:18 AM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

New clamp meter question


is it an Ideal brand?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 12:49 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Default

New clamp meter question


The mv likely stands for milivolts. 1 mv = 1/1000th of a volt.

Think of it as the device is attempting to read the tiny voltage potential in the air, which is of course constantly changing.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 06:56 PM   #5
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,603
Default

New clamp meter question


It's completely normal.

The meter is sensitive enough to pick up stray voltages in the air. That's why it goes to zero when the leads are shorted together.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 07:24 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

New clamp meter question


I disagree. It just sounds like a crap Ideal meter.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 07:44 PM   #7
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,603
Default

New clamp meter question


I should have put 'completely normal for a low-end meter'. lol.

The better ones nave a snubber network to cut back on reading transients.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 08:05 PM   #8
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

New clamp meter question


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
I disagree. It just sounds like a crap Ideal meter.
Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
I should have put 'completely normal for a low-end meter'. lol.



Rob
same thing isn't it?

I much prefer Fluke. They've been good to me and for me.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 12:21 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 114
Default

New clamp meter question


it is a fluke. LOL, guess it is normal
Chevyman30571 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 12:54 AM   #10
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Default

New clamp meter question


Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
It's completely normal.

The meter is sensitive enough to pick up stray voltages in the air. That's why it goes to zero when the leads are shorted together.

Rob
Yep my old meter used to do this. The numbers would get more crazy if I put the probes near a transformer or something. I accidentally set it to amps instead of volts and the receptacle I was testing worked. That was the end of that meter.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 05:26 PM   #11
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

New clamp meter question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevyman30571 View Post
it is a fluke. LOL, guess it is normal
Hey, if it works, it's a Fluke!!!

I never could figure out why somebody would name their company Fluke when this is such an easy joke.


Can't say I have ever had the problem with a Fluke.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 06:50 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Default

New clamp meter question


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
I never could figure out why somebody would name their company Fluke when this is such an easy joke.
Have you not seen this furnature store?
www.badcock.com
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 08:01 PM   #13
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

New clamp meter question


Quote:
Originally Posted by HooKooDooKu View Post
Have you not seen this furnature store?
www.badcock.com
Uh...ya.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 11:25 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Default

New clamp meter question


Perfectly normal on Fluke and any other.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 05:12 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 114
Default

New clamp meter question


Thanks J.V. Also alot of the guys I work with use ideal clamp meters. Whats wrong with them. Just becuase they didnt want to spend the money doesnt mean that ideal makes bad meters. They are just as accurate as a fluke.

Chevyman30571 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
Basement vapor barrier question rob7young Remodeling 2 04-13-2008 09:10 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Meter ratings Stubbie Electrical 3 04-02-2008 10:12 PM
Another Neutral/Ground/Bonding Question michael5 Electrical 3 01-30-2007 11:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.