Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2012, 06:06 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Greater Detroit area
Posts: 361
Share |
Default

New circuit from dryer


I have the laundry room (dryer+washer) at the 2nd floor....I don't really like that (with the risk of water/flood)
I am planning to put it in the basement
The dryer is electric (220V)
What should I pay attention to if I want to run a new line from the panel to the new spot in my basement (main panel in the basement as well)
How to properly decommission the previous one ?

french_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:13 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,560
Default

New circuit from dryer


I'd think long and hard about doing that. Where's 99% of the items that need washing? In the bedrooms. By moving it you would have to carry the heavy basket down two floors and back up again when there done.
By adding a pan under the washing machine and adding one of these you get rid of the flooding possiblility.
http://www.amazon.com/Watts-EDP00046.../dp/B00093DU5A

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 05:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NOLA
Posts: 290
Default

New circuit from dryer


I'd move the laundry to the basement and maybe add a valve. The trouble with those automatic valves is that the is a lot of stuff in them to fail causing a flood. A mechanically-timed or manual one might be better.

All you need to do to decommission the old circuit is to unhook it from the CB in the panel. You can do what ever you want with it after that, remove the box and hide it in the wall. It would be nice to label the cable in the box for any future work.
ionized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 05:23 PM   #4
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 221
Default

New circuit from dryer


Keep it where it is. Theres added value in an upstairs laundry rm. The latest episode of this old house had a nice segment on washing machine valves
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 05:40 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NOLA
Posts: 290
Default

New circuit from dryer


Who cares, it is an added value to the resident (OP and me) to me to have the space upstairs and the laundry in the basement. OTOH, it might make a difference to chronic home swappers.
ionized is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dryer Venting Question cbzdel HVAC 4 05-18-2011 02:16 PM
Re-route dryer electric cable Stu27 Electrical 10 09-06-2010 08:21 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Would it be bad to use a dryer circuit for other stuff? Red Squirrel Electrical 7 08-22-2009 11:54 AM
Dryer Circuit kornbln Electrical 8 08-16-2009 10:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.