New Cell Phone Trips GFCI - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2010, 05:33 PM   #1
Household Handyman
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,475
Rewards Points: 1,402

New cell phone trips GFCI

I had to get a new cell phone a few weeks ago, so I went hog-wild. I got one of these new "Droid 2" phones that does everything, but wipe it. I bought the "cradle" that goes in the house for it which will charge it and when put in the cradle it displays the time and temp like some clocks, really cool. I finally put this thing into use two night ago and last night when I put the phone in, it tripped the dedicated GFCI duplex outlet in the bath. Nothing else plugged into this either. I waited for at least 15 minutes, placed the phone back into the cradles and "pop" out again. I took the phone and cradle to the local cell phone place and they placed it into the cradle there. You guessed it, it didn't act up. Of course I asked them if this was a dedicated GFCI circuit and they told me "I don't know". They then recommended that I change the outlet to a regular outlet, just maybe 16" from the sink, NOT. Any suggestions? David


Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 07:31 PM   #2
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10

Did you try plugging it in to other GFCI outlets (kitchen, basement, outside)? Does it trip those? If it does I would go back to the store and have them plug it into the outlet in the rest room and if it trips that demand a new unit. If it doesn't trip other GFCI outlets then maybe the problem is with the bathroom outlet.


SleepyDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 09:57 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
frenchelectrican's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000

Was that device have three pong plug or two pong plug ? If it was three pong verison try that in diffrent room like kitchen or other room and see if that trip if not then maybe your RCD { GFCI } is going bad sometime they just trip out early for no reason.

If that the case you can get new RCD for about 15 or so.

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 09:24 AM   #4
Household Handyman
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,475
Rewards Points: 1,402

Half a step ahead of you guys. I plugged in into the other baths' GFCI yesterday with no problem for about an hour. Then last night I used the one which had tripped in my bath, err, ahh, with no problem. The plug for this cradles has only two prongs but one is larger than the other for polarization. Maybe just a bad night or something the other night. I'll continue to use it and see what happens. Good idea on them plugging it into their restroom area. Thanks for the replies. David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 09:49 AM   #5
Just call me Andrew
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,261
Rewards Points: 1,018

The GFCI was probably just tired. Maybe it had a long day?

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Fluorescent Ballast trips GFCI Breaker?? marc515 Electrical 7 02-18-2010 04:42 PM
GFCI Trips campbellpt Electrical 28 11-21-2008 03:06 PM
GFCI intermittent nuisance trips jejm1975 Electrical 43 09-07-2008 09:18 AM
GFCI light switch trips once per night ???? mw6263 Electrical 11 07-25-2008 11:05 AM
GFCI Trips Overnight Jomby Electrical 5 12-13-2007 10:41 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1