New Cabin Outlets - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-11-2009, 01:05 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

new cabin outlets

OK here is the deal. I have a cabin that I bought used last year. This past hunting season everything preformed well, except that the breakers (two 20a) would flip if we had to much plugged in. I was there this past weekend getting ready for turkey season and found the breakers flipped when i got there. I would flip the breaker to off, then try turning them back on. When i flipped them back to on there was a small pop, and a spark at the breaker box. I have some minor knowledge of elec. so i cut off the main and went through the house and replaced all of the outlets on this circuit. Before I left I could turn the breakers on, and they would stay on, but there was zero power to the outlets. When I pulled the breakers back out of the panel it looks like there are scorch marks where the break plugs in, could this have something to do with not getting power?

Advertisement

junebugpoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 01:43 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor

Rewards Points: 2,000

new cabin outlets

There is a bad wire connection somewhere in the circuit that was overheating, which would trip the circuit breaker. The overuse most likely caused this. The overheated stressed out wire failed at its weakest point. Call the electrician.

Advertisement

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 01:57 PM   #3

new cabin outlets