Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-17-2013, 06:18 PM   #16
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

New Business- HELP! Industrial Equipment and Electrical question


Your first post says the machine requires 380V 50/60Hz. If this is correct, then you will be able to use the equipment in the US, but with a bit of complexity due to the non-standard voltage. However, 380V systems are almost always 50Hz, not 60. If the machine is not actually rated for 60Hz, you have a real problem to deal with. You also did not mention if this is single phase or 3-phase equipment. The plug shown is designed for a single-phase 3-wire grounded supply, but that doesn't correlate with a "380V" single phase system. That would be a "220/380V" single phase supply, since there would be a neutral. However, that plug could also be used for a 3-phase 380V delta supply (three hots and a ground), and I suspect that may be what this machine needs. You need to get the exact specifications (voltage, frequency, phase, and current) from the manufacturer.

__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
Billy_Bob (04-17-2013), jcintron (04-17-2013)
Old 04-17-2013, 06:41 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

New Business- HELP! Industrial Equipment and Electrical question


I was just going to mention three phase which is used for industrial machinery, but read above^^^

Anyway there is Delta and Wye three phase. Or single phase. This gets terribly complex with the different types of electric motors and different types of power available (let alone adding foreign countries into the mix!). Here is a bit on that...
http://www.stpats.com/index.htm

http://power.apitech.com/engineering-tools.aspx

http://www.electricmotorwarehouse.co...n_diagrams.htm

Perhaps you could tell the manufacturer to wait a bit until you get this figured out? Then search in the yellow pages for electrical engineers, then call around and see if any are familiar with making foreign equipment work in the U.S.

The manufacturer may be able to provide certain things.

The places you might rent may have this or that.

Maybe an electrical engineer could help you talk "technical" to both and put it all together. Also the total sum of all certain types of equipment needs to be taken into consideration before ordering a transformer or whatever. These gizmos would need to have the capacity to power all the machines!
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Billy_Bob For This Useful Post:
jcintron (04-17-2013)
Old 04-17-2013, 08:06 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New York, N.Y.
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Business- HELP! Industrial Equipment and Electrical question


Thank you Billy_Bob. I have already emailed my manufacturers to ask them for a guarantee the machines will be running on 60hz.

I also wrote to the manufacturer who sent this 4 pronged plug and requested that they review what they do with US clients in regards to specific motors and voltages. The sales rep and the engineer are not the same people and I don't need for there to be a disconnect. It could all be a misunderstanding on the sales rep.

Either way I am honestly very pleased with the DIY forum community and the great input everyone has. The machines are already paid for and there is my life savings to lose. I am going to do everything in my power to stop a terrible situation by getting to the bottom of things with the manufacturers. I have a lot more to work with tonight than I did when I first saw my dilemma.

If anyone wants an update I believe that I will have responses in the next 24 hours from them (hopefully).
jcintron is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jcintron For This Useful Post:
k_buz (04-17-2013)
Old 04-17-2013, 08:15 PM   #19
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,810
Rewards Points: 2,418
Default

New Business- HELP! Industrial Equipment and Electrical question


With so much at stake I hope it can be salvaged and you can open your business. Hope you learned some important infomation along the way.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 09:51 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

New Business- HELP! Industrial Equipment and Electrical question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jcintron View Post
...The sales rep and the engineer are not the same people...
Right!

As a rule, sales people are not very technical. If you can talk to an engineering type and ask if he could email you "electrical specifications" and/or tell you what options the equipment has for power connections, then you will get good and detailed information.

Same with the location(s) you are thinking of renting. Find out specifically what voltages are provided, single phase only or also 3 phase, Wye or Delta, and the amperage of the electrical service.

Then because your life savings is wrapped up in this, confirm that information before renting. If it is a building with several tenants, but sure it is run to the space you are renting (not just to the building).

Here are various electrical services...
http://www.ccontrolsys.com/w/Electri...s_and_Voltages
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 09:59 PM   #21
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

New Business- HELP! Industrial Equipment and Electrical question


Regardless of the machine specs, it is POSSIBLE to run it in the US. It's just a question of how hard and expensive it will be. The single vs. 3-phase question is the biggest one, followed by frequency. Worst case, if it requires 3-phase and 50Hz only, you can use a VFD to power it. The VFD plus transformers would run several grand, in addition to the normal costs of installation. Best case, if it's a 380V 60Hz single phase machine, you'll need one or two transformers at a cost of a thousand each or so.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
k_buz (04-17-2013)
Old 04-17-2013, 11:08 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New York, N.Y.
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Talking

New Business- HELP! Industrial Equipment and Electrical question


Ok fellas! Good news for me I hope.

Responses from the two manufacturers is as follows:

1. Ok,the voltage u need is 220v,3phase,60hz.
What plug should I ask them to place on this machine?

2.
The motor of DP1000 will be 230 volt, 3 phase, 60 Hz based on the information.
This particular machine will be direct connection.

So, I am hopefully doing a lot better since I got some input from the wonderful electricians on this forum.
The final detail is from a broker regarding a space I am interested in:

3 phase and at least 200 Amps. Do you need more?

I believe I am in much better shape after having come to the forum for assistance. I asked all the right questions and made the corrections with the manufacturers for what I believe are very important details that would have been missed had I continued not to wonder about them.

The few questions I still would like some assistance on are:

1. What plug should I ask for on the 220v, 3 phase, 60hz machine? It's a small motor that controls a screw auger filler.

2. What else should I ask about the space for lease regarding the ability to use the machine? Do I need to request a voltage and if it is more than what I need should I have someone install something?

I will definitely need an electrician to install my machines but I want to make sure I get the right space that will work with my machines.

Thank you everyone for your help. I have made this situation go from disaster to hopefully not so bad situation.

jcintron is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jcintron For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (04-21-2013)
Old 04-17-2013, 11:31 PM   #23
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

New Business- HELP! Industrial Equipment and Electrical question


I would find out what voltages options are available in both single and three phase for the equipment and how many amps you will need to run your whole shop. And when you are searching for for a building look for those qualities and once you have secured a building and it's being wired to run the equipment. Then you can order the equipment to fit the building you chose. Would be much easier than having to add transformers and many other expensive items to convert something. Ordering something now may limit you to a small range or buildings. You also don;t want to get a building that may need a very expensive upgrade.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
jcintron (04-17-2013)
Old 04-18-2013, 12:43 AM   #24
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New Business- HELP! Industrial Equipment and Electrical question


I know someone mention me due I am from France so I am famuair with the European equiment.

Now let get to the point real quick.,

I did see that you got the reply from the manufacter mention 240 volts three phase.

That part is fine however you will have to tell your electrician to pay attetion to the connection due the European equiment intened to use full 4 conductor format so tell your electrician to run in Delta mode unless the machine wiring diagram mention something else then go with 240 volt wye connection ( this part is for the last resort due the L-N voltage will be higher than conventail system will be )

I know you got the info from the broker or someperson mention 200 amp with three phase that part I really seriously have the electrician to confirm the main system to make sure that is correct due they can come in either wye or delta format. ( some case it may have both single phase et three phase aviable with two seperated service drop which it kinda semi common but it slowly drop out of that to a single service.)

If the machine that you are using required different voltage which a very simple soulation is use the tranfomer to change to differnt voltage level as need to be at.

The other thing I will mention in here real clear that with any motour driven equiment expect them to run faster than normal 50 HZ source unless they are designed to run on 60 HZ source so that something your electrician will have to take a look to make sure. ( this useally the most common issue so pay atteton to that part )



Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (04-21-2013)
Old 04-18-2013, 06:00 AM   #25
MEASURE ONCE, CUT TWICE
 
123pugsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MARKHAM, ON
Posts: 621
Rewards Points: 668
Default

New Business- HELP! Industrial Equipment and Electrical question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jcintron View Post




The few questions I still would like some assistance on are:

1. What plug should I ask for on the 220v, 3 phase, 60hz machine? It's a small motor that controls a screw auger filler.


You need to know the amperage before you stick a plug on the end of a cord.

Is it 3 phase plus the neutral?
123pugsy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 06:44 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 145
Rewards Points: 87
Default

New Business- HELP! Industrial Equipment and Electrical question


You really should be talking face to face with a competent electrician/ contractor. There are creative ways to power your equipment, like multi-tap transformers. But it'll be much easier if your guy can talk directly to your machine builder, or the building owner, or the electrical supplier.

You found enough information here to know you may be between a rock and a hard place. Get professionals involved on-site now.

And good luck with your new venture.
al_smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 11:20 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

New Business- HELP! Industrial Equipment and Electrical question


You need to hire a licensed electrician.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 11:35 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 483
Rewards Points: 302
Default

New Business- HELP! Industrial Equipment and Electrical question


I agree with another post. Get your electrician involved now and show him the building and the specs for the equipment, and make sure everything is all in order. I think you are in much better shape now then you were at the start of your question! Based on what you are saying now, chances are your electrician is going to say everything will be fine, but I'd get that professional opinion and an on site visit now while you can still change things if needed.

Last edited by taylorjm; 04-18-2013 at 11:38 AM.
taylorjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 12:24 PM   #29
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

New Business- HELP! Industrial Equipment and Electrical question


You still need to know two pieces of information from the manufacturer: current draw, and wye vs. delta (4-wire vs. 5-wire). Once you have all that info, your electrician will be able to move forward. You'll need the electrician to evaluate your potential properties to make sure the service is adequate. You obviously need 3-phase power.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 11:53 AM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New York, N.Y.
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Business- HELP! Industrial Equipment and Electrical question


Thanks everyone for the recommendation. I have contacted an electrical engineer with more than 20 years in NY who keeps up to date with modernization.
I will be working with him from now on because yes, there is no way around something this serious but to involve a pro.

I thank you all sincerely because I had the right information and details of my dilemma to bring forth. Its so hard when there is no knowledge of a topic to explain what is actually the situation.

Marc, I will definitely relay the information. The terms are foreign to me but are probably understandable to a professional.

mpoulton, I will plead with the person I have working with me to look at properties with me, although I am not sure he will want to.

Thanks everyone.

jcintron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric code, electrical engineer, electrical installation, electrician


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subpanel - equipment ground feed wire not terminated peaks Electrical 2 12-27-2012 05:37 PM
breaker panel positioning regulations orobono Electrical 1 10-27-2012 04:25 PM
Schedule 40 PVC in Chicago? franwalker Electrical 56 12-20-2011 11:04 PM
International Electrical Question..60HZ vs 50HZ Supply woodworkerjeff Electrical 9 08-03-2011 05:35 PM
2 Prong Electrical mjcongleton Electrical 10 04-16-2008 09:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.