New Bulbs, Good Fuse, Still No Lights...HELP! - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2009, 10:08 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 77
Default

New bulbs, good fuse, still no lights...HELP!


Hello, let me first say that this is my first post and I stumbled across it looking for answers to my problem.

My wife flipped one of two light switches on in our bathroom but she said everything popped and the lights were out. She said the pop was similar to when a bulb burns out. I changed the bulbs...no power...I flipped the other switch in the room and it works. I'm not sure how the house is wired but I'm assuming the bad switch is on the same as everything on both sides of that wall but I checked the fuse box anyway and nothing was blown. I took a switch out of one of the other rooms that I know works and replaced it but still no lights. We're trying to keeps costs down and are hoping this is an easy fix.

Any thoughts and ideas are much appreciated. Thank you!

Advertisement

TJMS81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 06:56 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 348
Rewards Points: 250
Default

New bulbs, good fuse, still no lights...HELP!


could be the switch. Turn off the power, remove the switch and either use a tester between the two points or jump the two wires together, turn the power back on and see if the lights work.

take no chances with electric. if youre not sure you can do it than call a pro

Advertisement

II Weeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 07:08 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

New bulbs, good fuse, still no lights...HELP!


Your bath lights may be run off of a GFI receptacle, although they shouldn't be. Check the GFI receptacles in every bathroom to see if it's tripped.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 08:02 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New bulbs, good fuse, still no lights...HELP!


I know this is going a little far but, do you have aluminum wire?

Check for tripped gfis.

Otherwise, there may be a loose connection. These aren't fun to find without a multimeter.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 09:51 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

New bulbs, good fuse, still no lights...HELP!


If you do not find a gfci, remove the light fixture in question and check the wiring there.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 10:41 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,977
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

New bulbs, good fuse, still no lights...HELP!


Did you replace or install something (other than a light bulb) before the first pop happened?

You might have made a wiring mistake.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 01:42 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

New bulbs, good fuse, still no lights...HELP!


GFCI's make a switching sound when they trip. That could be what she heard. Reset the GFCI. While your at it, take a second to push the test button. Then reset it again to make sure it's working.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 03:16 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New bulbs, good fuse, still no lights...HELP!


Quote:
Originally Posted by TJMS81 View Post
I changed the bulbs...no power...
known good bulbs?

nothing was blown.
Could be a wirenut gave up the ghost, with an arc

I took a switch out of one of the other rooms that I know works and replaced it but still no lights.
Almost certainly it is not the switch, unless a short somewhere causes switches to instantly fail.

We're trying to keeps costs down and are hoping this is an easy fix.

Any thoughts and ideas are much appreciated. Thank you!
I assume your wife passed the Polygraph exam?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 04:01 PM   #9
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New bulbs, good fuse, still no lights...HELP!


i'd cut the power and pull the light. you might just find a fried socket or dead wires. (burned/hard/falling off/touching each other not in a fun way/socket crumbling) i just fixed one like that 2 days ago.
the guy had 2 100w bulbs in the fixture... rated at 60w max x2.... stamped right on the steel.... can't miss it.......gee, wonder why that happened? heh heh

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 07:25 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 77
Default

New bulbs, good fuse, still no lights...HELP!


Thank you everyonefor the posts. I used my multimeter to make sure the switch was still working yesterday...it was. There is a single outlet wired with and part of the light assembly so I used that which told me power was getting past the switch. The bulbs had been 100W but the assembly was rated for 60W (I was replacing w/ 60W). It still wasn't working so I loosened the mounting nut and was going to take a look at the wires. As an after thought, I put in a 60W and it came on. I looked for bad wires but couldn't see anything loose or bare anywhere. I replaced the mounting nut and put in 4 good bulbs. I'm not sure what was going on but it is all working now, thankfully.
TJMS81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 10:52 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New bulbs, good fuse, still no lights...HELP!


This is just a quick note, I have found that the center tab in the middle of the light socket will sometimes be bent so far in the socket you will get intermittant connection. Make sure the tab is clean & bent outward.... Then again you can usually get a replacement socket from the hardware store for a couple bucks.

Advertisement

g.gauvreau is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bulbs , fuse , no power , switch


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Glass Fuse Panel box question? pouncerw Electrical 4 10-05-2009 10:01 PM
Down lights placement issues? Ads79 Electrical 2 02-09-2009 08:54 PM
Goodman GMT-070-4 Furnace blows 3A Fuse Bruce Mundy HVAC 4 01-02-2008 11:31 PM
Halogen flood lights chicagonyc Electrical 5 07-15-2006 11:11 PM
fuse went BANG davej Electrical 1 01-23-2006 01:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts