Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2010, 08:40 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

New Air Conditioner trips breaker


I am replacing an old air conditioner unit that had a NEMA 10-30P 30 Amp 250 volt receptacle with one that requires a LCDI NEMA 6-15P receptacle. The air conditioner is listed as 15 Amp 230 volt. The new 20 Amp volt receptacle has two brass screws and a ground. The old receptacle was attached to black, white and red #10 wires that run back to a 30 amp breaker in the box. The voltage testor lit up at 110 with the red and black and 110 with the red and white. It lit up at 220 with the black and white so I attached the black and white to the brass terminals, capped the red and attached the ground terminal to the box. The air conditioner unit fan powers up and runs strong initially. However, after three minutes, the breaker trips when the condensor kicks on. Any possible solutions?

Cano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 08:47 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

New Air Conditioner trips breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cano View Post
However, after three minutes, the breaker trips when the condensor kicks on. Any possible solutions?
Assuming a good breaker, taking 3 minutes to trip means a very mild overload.
Maybe a bad connection is causing low voltage to the compressor and so it pulls more current than normal.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 09:23 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

New Air Conditioner trips breaker


If the old wires were also 240v, and all being used, why not just connect it back the way it was?

What wires were on the old breaker? You DID replace the breaker with a 20A, right?

Also, is there a valid proper ground in the box that you connected the receptacle to? If so how did you check?
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 09:47 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Default

New Air Conditioner trips breaker


If the old wires were also 240v, and all being used, why not just connect it back the way it was?

New air conditioner required new receptacle. Old receptacle obsolete for new units.

What wires were on the old breaker?

Did not check, will do so.

You DID replace the breaker with a 20A, right?

No I did not replace the 30 amp double breaker.

Also, is there a valid proper ground in the box that you connected the receptacle to? If so how did you check?

Poor assumption on my part. Will have to check that box is properly grounded.
Cano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 10:29 AM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

New Air Conditioner trips breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cano View Post
I am replacing an old air conditioner unit that had a NEMA 10-30P 30 Amp 250 volt receptacle with one that requires a LCDI NEMA 6-15P receptacle. The air conditioner is listed as 15 Amp 230 volt. The new 20 Amp volt receptacle has two brass screws and a ground. The old receptacle was attached to black, white and red #10 wires that run back to a 30 amp breaker in the box. The voltage testor lit up at 110 with the red and black and 110 with the red and white. It lit up at 220 with the black and white so I attached the black and white to the brass terminals, capped the red and attached the ground terminal to the box. The air conditioner unit fan powers up and runs strong initially. However, after three minutes, the breaker trips when the condensor kicks on. Any possible solutions?
Your NEMA 10-30 is a 120/240 receptacle. The White wire should have been connected to the 90 deg terminal. The red and black should have been connected to the to straight pins. Since your voltage reading don't make sense, you need to look at the breaker and see if there is a black and red wire connected to the breaker and the the white wire to the neutral bar.
Your new plug is a 6-15 which is straight 240. The red and black wires should be on the two hot terminals and the ground, you do have a ground wire in the box, should be connected to the U terminal. The white capped.
Review your wiring and let us know....
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Fluorescent Ballast trips GFCI Breaker?? marc515 Electrical 7 02-18-2010 04:42 PM
900W and up trips breaker, Circuit draws power even with everything off... jasonblu Electrical 40 12-09-2009 02:29 PM
GFCI breaker trips randomly BimmerRacer Electrical 40 09-21-2009 02:11 PM
Table Saw trips breaker - need troubleshooting help Leah Frances Electrical 6 08-26-2009 10:41 PM
20 Amp Breaker only trips once in a while panhandlion Electrical 14 11-26-2007 08:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.