Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-23-2011, 11:05 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

New 320 AMP Service


I am building house 4500 SF, have installed services before but not sure about this 320 amp service. The Elec co. is going to give me the 320 amp meter can and told me I can run 2 x 200 amp panels off this service. I need to bring these into the house, plan on using 2" PVC to each panel using 2/0. Here is the question. Distance is about 40 feet to the two location in middle of house I plan to put the panels

1. Is there a limit on 90 degree bends I can have getting to panel? I know to keep to min but is there a limt?

2. Do I run #4 or #6 in same conduit all the way to each panel? I thought it was better to have ground as close to panel as possible. Would it be better to drill into floor and drive rod into ground by panel?

RayIL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 11:11 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

New 320 AMP Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by RayIL View Post
I am building house 4500 SF, have installed services before but not sure about this 320 amp service. The Elec co. is going to give me the 320 amp meter can and told me I can run 2 x 200 amp panels off this service. I need to bring these into the house, plan on using 2" PVC to each panel using 2/0. Here is the question. Distance is about 40 feet to the two location in middle of house I plan to put the panels

1. Is there a limit on 90 degree bends I can have getting to panel? I know to keep to min but is there a limt?

A. It will limited to total of 360° bends so max of 4 90° ells or any other combation not to excessed it.


2. Do I run #4 or #6 in same conduit all the way to each panel? I thought it was better to have ground as close to panel as possible. Would it be better to drill into floor and drive rod into ground by panel?

A. Run the EGC { bare copper conductor } outside and sink two rods the rods will have to be at least 6 feet or more apart.
Those answer I type in bold bleu colour

Which type of 2/0 conductor are you going to use it?? that may affect the way it can be used.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 11:12 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Default

New 320 AMP Service


Copper, typical I think its TWNN does that make since
RayIL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 11:19 AM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

New 320 AMP Service


IMO that is one size smaller than normally I use but I will have to check the NEC code book to make sure unless other step in with the answer due I am allready used with both NEC and French electrical code verison.

The THHN/THWN is a good choice there.

For most of the 200'er I have deal most I ran typically 3/0 or 95mm˛ or larger depending on the set up. { alum conductors are automatique one size larger }

Also check with your local code about the distance from meter socket to the load centre I know most area will say short as possible which it mean up to 6 feet { 2 meters } in most case but some may not so check with the inspector real quick on that.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )

Last edited by frenchelectrican; 04-23-2011 at 11:22 AM. Reason: add a noté
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 11:20 AM   #5
Member
 
wareagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Nashville
Posts: 70
Default

New 320 AMP Service


You need to check with you inspector regarding the placement of the panels. Normally the panels are placed near the meter because they have a main disconnect. If you install them in the middle of the house the inspector may require a 400 amp disconnect at the meter.
Per US standards and NEC..

Last edited by wareagle; 04-23-2011 at 11:23 AM.
wareagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 11:21 AM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,783
Default

New 320 AMP Service


Don't you need disconnects before entering the structure?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 11:22 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Default

New 320 AMP Service


Around here I think 2/0 is the code for 200 AMP but maybe using 3/0 would be better since it 40-50 ft from meter. IS 2" large enough to hanle 3/0
RayIL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 11:30 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

New 320 AMP Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by RayIL View Post
Around here I think 2/0 is the code for 200 AMP but maybe using 3/0 would be better since it 40-50 ft from meter. IS 2" large enough to hanle 3/0
40 to 50 feet from the meter to the load centre then you will need a outdoor disconnect switch and need four conductor set up which it will have two line et netural and ground and you will have to bump up to 2.5 inches if you going to use 3/0 otherwise 4/0 Alum XLEP { or simauir } is cheaper if your area allow it.

I know it can get them in 2 inch but it will be pretty tight so pay attetion to the ells or offset bends.

Before you do anything with that arrangement better run by the inspector first to see what they have to say.

All the homes I work on I always keep the load centre very close to the meter as possible to keep the cost down espcally with outdoor disconnect switch or breakers if your meter socket did come with two 200 amp main breaker then you will have to run 4 conductors as I mention above.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 11:38 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Default

New 320 AMP Service


Thanks,

Yep, you are right - that is what elec com said. You would have 2 discounts off each side of meter and then run them to the panels. I know it would be easy to have panels on other side wall to disconnect but the way house is I am limited and this would mean having them in middle of my basement bar wall. I can do 2"1/2" - not that big issue, more room better, easier to pull wire.

So is there a limit on 90's?

I think the way it stands now is this:

through wall - close 90 up, and then 4 long 90 sweeps to the panels.
RayIL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 11:40 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Default

New 320 AMP Service


PS Alum not allowed here. Power co can use it but not home owners. the Pwr Co is supplying the meter can, they tell me that way if it needs to be replaced they don't have to match my disconnect - they service meter can. Also, they run line to the can - underground and of course its alum. Go figure.
RayIL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 12:02 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

New 320 AMP Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by RayIL View Post
Around here I think 2/0 is the code for 200 AMP...
That is typical everywhere.


Quote:
Originally Posted by RayIL View Post
...but maybe using 3/0 would be better since it 40-50 ft from meter.
WHY do you think this would be "better"???


Quote:
Originally Posted by RayIL View Post
Yep, you are right - that is what elec com said. You would have 2 discounts off each side of meter and then run them to the panels.
You also need 4 wires from the discs to the panels.




Quote:
Originally Posted by RayIL View Post
So is there a limit on 90's?
Yes, 360 deg total.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 12:05 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Default

New 320 AMP Service


So if I count the the 90 off the line coming in house I have more than 360. I have no choice - I have to use at lest 5 90 to get to panel. What can I do? Do long sweeps help
RayIL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 12:33 PM   #13
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 697
Default

New 320 AMP Service


either use a Type LB conduit body to enter the house, or put a Type C Conduit body or a pull box in the run
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 12:43 PM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

New 320 AMP Service


Remember, any conduit bodies or boxes MUST remain accessible.

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
grounding, service


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New service Help (Meter can/ service mast Conduit help) cwolford Electrical 13 03-26-2011 07:55 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
Service mast options bsperr Electrical 6 12-09-2009 08:48 AM
Remodel - Moving from 200 amp service to 320 amps stevedar Electrical 20 11-29-2009 08:14 PM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.