New 3-Way Not Working - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2009, 09:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New 3-Way not working


I updated some switches in my house. The old switches were probably 20 years old. They worked fine but just looked bad. Anyway, I bought new 3-way switches from Lowe's and hooked them up exactly as the old ones were. After doing one 3 way the kitchen light still worked but when i added the second the way for the same light, the light stopped working. I hooked the old switch back up and it works. Obviously, I dont wire the new 3 way the same way as the old. Anyone have any ideas? This happened in a kitchen and also in a hallway. The wires came out of the the switch as follows: Black to top left, red to top right and white to bottom right. A second switch in another part of the house for a different light was wired like this: Black to top left, black to top right, and white to bottom right. Again, when I wired brand new switches just like the old ones, neither light worked.

Hope this makes sense. I appreciate any/all ideas you may have.

Advertisement

cincycuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 09:27 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

New 3-Way not working


You can't go by the location of the screws. Look on the old switch and there will be 1 screw that's either marked "common" or a different color than the other 2 screws. This wire needs to be put on the black screw or "common" screw of your new switch. It doesn't matter which screws you put the other 2 on.

Other than the ground screw of course...lol

Advertisement


Last edited by wirenut1110; 02-04-2009 at 10:27 PM. Reason: added ps
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 03:22 AM   #3
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,545
Rewards Points: 2,070
Default

New 3-Way not working


There is another Tread going with the same Subject
Light switch help
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No heat but working AC xevier69 HVAC 4 01-30-2009 06:31 PM
Inside Fan not working BenH HVAC 20 07-08-2008 07:10 AM
Working with granite... SDeeter19464 Remodeling 5 06-14-2008 06:51 AM
GE fridge evaporator fan change and still not working Trish Appliances 2 03-30-2008 02:47 PM
Furnace stops working once a day - help Da_Bears HVAC 2 01-26-2006 02:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts