New 240 Oulet...need Troubleshooting Help - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2010, 08:05 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


Measure voltage in the subpanel between two fins under where the breakers snap on. Find two fins with 240 volts between them for your double breaker.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 11:19 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Check the placement of the breaker.
Ge panels are made so the whole panel with accept the thin breakers, and sometime you can put a thin 2 pole breaker into a single pole slot.


will do so after work..thanks...by the way...noticed that the electrician put a slimline ge 40 amp from the main to the subpanel....is this ok....can i get a 240 v feed from this type of breaker?
alfaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 11:24 AM   #18
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,053
Rewards Points: 2,904
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


That slimline breaker may only be supplying 120 volts to the subpanel.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
alfaman (08-16-2010)
Old 08-16-2010, 11:49 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
That slimline breaker may only be supplying 120 volts to the subpanel.

ahh....how can i check this....i guess i could check the bus on the subpanel?.....

i will put a full size 40 amp double pole on the main to supply the subpanel

i'm still a bit unclear on how i place the full size in the panel to supply 240v instead of 120
alfaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 11:54 AM   #20
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


A slimline GE breaker double pole breaker will fir into a single slot, thus only delivering 120 volts on each side of the breaker, but not 240.
The breaker needs to be moved up or down 1/2 slot to get to both legs to supply 240 volts.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
alfaman (08-16-2010)
Old 08-16-2010, 02:26 PM   #21
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


First you have to tell us what type of cable is supplying the sub panel, size and amount of conductors inside.

Pictures of the sub panel and the breaker feeding the sub panel inside of the main panel would be best.

For all we know right now, that sub panel might be wired up with a piece of 12-2.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 04:38 PM   #22
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,247
Rewards Points: 2,464
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
A slimline GE breaker double pole breaker will fir into a single slot, thus only delivering 120 volts on each side of the breaker, but not 240.
The breaker needs to be moved up or down 1/2 slot to get to both legs to supply 240 volts.
Yep that is my bet too 120 volts only feeding his sub-panel

A THQP slim line double has enough gap between the two breakers so that it can be installed on a single bus stab. There are two tabs that project 90 degrees from that stab both are the same bus so the breaker is 120 volts. You have to do as JBfan said to catch a single tab from different bus stabs. The full size THQP does not use these tabs but the bus stab itself. See image below.....
Attached Thumbnails
new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help-ge-tlm812-2.jpg  
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Stubbie For This Useful Post:
alfaman (08-16-2010)
Old 08-16-2010, 07:24 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


Thanks guys..will check this out after work when i get home....

apprecitate it!
alfaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 09:54 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


thanks guys..fixed...it was that slimline breaker in the main...i'll be welding this wkend!
alfaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 10:00 AM   #25
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


Quote:
Originally Posted by alfaman View Post
thanks guys..fixed...it was that slimline breaker in the main...i'll be welding this wkend!
Great! Have fun.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
newbie HVAC troubleshooting elm66 HVAC 1 06-22-2009 09:38 PM
Tips On A/C Blower Troubleshooting? DeeTee HVAC 7 05-21-2009 01:24 PM
1986 Day&Night Troubleshooting...HELP!! rwhite692 HVAC 3 05-07-2009 12:32 AM
Troubleshooting Garage Light capt2 Electrical 10 11-18-2007 11:41 AM
Help with voltage troubleshooting epicurux Electrical 5 07-02-2007 08:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts