New 240 Oulet...need Troubleshooting Help - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2010, 09:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


hi...have a new 240 three prong 50 amp outlet (for lincoln a/c d/c welder)
wired from a 100 amp subpanel in my garage...

here's my problem...the welder won't work.....when i test the outlet, i get
120v in each leg, but nothing (no 240 v) when i try to multimeter the two hot legs together (i plug the welder in most of the way and then multitested the hot prongs)...multimeter reads "0" and a "-" (looks like a minus sign flashes)

i'm sure the subpanel is wired correctedly....ground and white are seperate in the sub...i have a double poll 40 amp breaker (one power switch) in the sub

i have two hots and a bare ground running from the subpanel to the outlet....i also have a white..unconnected to anything (just pulled it from the sub to the outlet just in case)....please note, my lincoln welder takes a three prong outlet...not the four...so i didn't use the white ..

gauge wire from the main to the house is 4....the gauge of wire from
subpanel to outlet is 6 (except 12 for bare ground)

sorry if this sounds confusing, but i am consused!

Advertisement


Last edited by alfaman; 08-15-2010 at 10:19 PM.
alfaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 10:05 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


Is this powered by a two pole breaker or a tandem breaker?

A tandem breaker only supplies 120 volt power to two circuits, not 240 to one circuit.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.

Last edited by Jim Port; 08-15-2010 at 10:17 PM.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
alfaman (08-15-2010)
Old 08-15-2010, 10:16 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Is this powered by a two pole breaker or a tandem breaker?

A tandem breaker only supplies 120 volt power to two circuits, not 140 to one circuit.
double pole..just like this one...thanks for the response

GE Model # THQL2140

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...02&marketID=48
alfaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 10:22 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


Measure the two termination points of the breaker and see what you are getting.

Check all connections. It is possible that one of the hots is loose and you are reading phantom voltage when metering it to ground.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 10:26 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Proby View Post
Measure the two termination points of the breaker and see what you are getting.

Check all connections. It is possible that one of the hots is loose and you are reading phantom voltage when metering it to ground.
are the termination points where the wire is connected to the breaker?

by the way...when i use a voltage detector, both the outlet and the wire from the welder (when plugged in)
suggests there is voltage/hot...by the way, i'm sure the welder works..i tested it in another outlet

Last edited by alfaman; 08-15-2010 at 10:29 PM.
alfaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 10:45 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


Quote:
Originally Posted by alfaman View Post
are the termination points where the wire is connected to the breaker?
Yes.
Quote:
by the way...when i use a voltage detector, both the outlet and the wire from the welder (when plugged in)
suggests there is voltage/hot...
We know there is one hot, we are trying to figure out why the other one isn't working.
Quote:
by the way, i'm sure the welder works..i tested it in another outlet
The welder isn't the problem, the leg that is reading 120V to ground but 0 to the other leg is the problem.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 11:00 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Proby View Post
Yes.
We know there is one hot, we are trying to figure out why the other one isn't working.

The welder isn't the problem, the leg that is reading 120V to ground but 0 to the other leg is the problem.
thanks prody.....i hope i explained it correctly....each hot side is reading 120 v when grounded....but can't get 240v between them.....hope i'm not being redundant...thanks for your time and help in trying to help me figure this out....have an old alfa my father and i are trying to restore
alfaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 11:23 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


So you are saying that you measured the two terminals of the 2-pole breaker and you do not get 240V between them?

If that is true, then you have to check the sub panel. Whatever it is fed with, either by main lug or main breaker, you have to check this and see if you get 240V between the two.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Proby For This Useful Post:
alfaman (08-15-2010)
Old 08-15-2010, 11:43 PM   #9
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


I know with my panel, I can't just put a double pole breaker anywhere in it. They legs are not staggered at every circuit. If you get 0 volts from both screws, test from one screw to the breaker below or above, to see if you get 240. If you do, you'll want to move it up or down a notch.
Red Squirrel is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Red Squirrel For This Useful Post:
alfaman (08-15-2010)
Old 08-15-2010, 11:52 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


thanks..i'll check first thing tomorrow



it's a ge subpanel box...forgot the model, but labeled subpanel with
100 amp breaker and a few 20 amps in it

Last edited by alfaman; 08-15-2010 at 11:57 PM.
alfaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 11:58 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


Quote:
Originally Posted by alfaman View Post
thanks..i'll check first thing tomorrow



it's a ge subpanel box...forgot the model, but labeled subpanel with
100 amp breaker and a few 20 amps in it

just found the model #

GE DEH-40537

hopefully i can put double breakers in it
alfaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 12:16 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Proby View Post
So you are saying that you measured the two terminals of the 2-pole breaker and you do not get 240V between them?

If that is true, then you have to check the sub panel. Whatever it is fed with, either by main lug or main breaker, you have to check this and see if you get 240V between the two.

ok..will do...just ran out in the dark and thought the mail lugs also read zero with the "-"...but just a quick check..i'll be more exact tomorrow

by the way..the three 20 amps circuits in my garage work fine from this subpanel
alfaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 12:26 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Proby View Post
So you are saying that you measured the two terminals of the 2-pole breaker and you do not get 240V between them?

If that is true, then you have to check the sub panel. Whatever it is fed with, either by main lug or main breaker, you have to check this and see if you get 240V between the two.

when using a multimeter:

to check the box...or breaker in the box...do i place the hot on the breaker or lug and the black on a ground?..
alfaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 01:04 AM   #14
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


It does not matter which lead is placed on the hot or ground.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 07:43 AM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

new 240 oulet...need troubleshooting help


Check the placement of the breaker.
Ge panels are made so the whole panel with accept the thin breakers, and sometime you can put a thin 2 pole breaker into a single pole slot.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
newbie HVAC troubleshooting elm66 HVAC 1 06-22-2009 09:38 PM
Tips On A/C Blower Troubleshooting? DeeTee HVAC 7 05-21-2009 01:24 PM
1986 Day&Night Troubleshooting...HELP!! rwhite692 HVAC 3 05-07-2009 12:32 AM
Troubleshooting Garage Light capt2 Electrical 10 11-18-2007 11:41 AM
Help with voltage troubleshooting epicurux Electrical 5 07-02-2007 08:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts