Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-31-2014, 04:24 AM   #1

Share |

New 200 amp upgrade plan with diagram

Before I state what I'm going to attempt, I'd like to let everyone know that even though I'm not an electrician, I do have many years of experience in the field and I'm going to obtain proper permits before I attempt this project. (I have to get permits for my utility to connect service).

I'm planning on upgrading my old 100 amp service to 200 amp. The previous owner built a pool and did not connect the pool panel to the fused side of the main fuse box (probably blew a couple fuses)

I've done pretty extensive research and planning and have come to the point where I feel pretty comfortable attempting this on my own with the on-call help of a friend with more experience in the field.

My plan is to install a 200 amp meter/main outside that will feed my two major outdoor power hogs which are the pool equipment and AC condenser. The meter I'm going with comes equipped with feed-through lugs which I'm going to use to run 2/0-2/0-2/0-1 AL SER cable rated for 150 amps to an indoor 150 subpanel (with a 150 amp breaker) which is in the same building about 40 feet away. This indoor panel will be my main panel for my home circuits.

For grounding, I'm going to isolate the neutral and ground in the sub panel and run the ground back to the main outdoor meter with has neutral and ground bonded then down to two 8' grounding rods 6' apart.

Diagram below. Any feedback will help. If there's something I'm missing or if there's a better way to do this I'd like to know as well.

Two things I'm not 100% sure of is if I have to run grounding rods for the subpanel and if the 2/0 AL would be allowed to run out of a 200 amp panel that is not protected by a 150 amp breaker (at least the cable isn't)

Last edited by seephor; 03-31-2014 at 04:39 AM.