New 200 Amp Breaker Box Make Noise - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2012, 02:52 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 294
Rewards Points: 258
Default

New 200 Amp Breaker box make noise


I installed a new GE 200A electrical panel and transferred all of my circuits over from the old box. All of them were working fine in the old box. I just needed a bigger box. Anyway, after energizing the main breaker it made a sizzle sound for a second or so and then quit. Kinda freaked me out. I turned it off. I checked to make sure it was seated fully and it appeared to be. I then turned off all circuits and then turned on the main. No noise. I started turning on circuits one at a time. After the fifth or sixth breaker I heard that sound again only it was very faint. so I assumed something was wrong with that particular circuit. I rechecked the connections and tried it again. No noise. So I turned the rest of the circuits on and all was quiet.

I then turned off the main and cleaned up the work area and put the panel cover on. After energizing the main break I heard that noise again. I quickly turned it off and after checking the panel here is what I've discovered:
  • The sound comes from the 200 main breaker, not the individual circuit breakers.
  • The sound happens randomly and is not circuit dependent. After further testing any of the individual breakers can cause this to happen.
  • All hots, neutrals, and grounds as tightened securely and properly connected.

Do you think this is a bad main breaker? The service lines are newly installed by the power company and are locked. Could they possible be loose or not tightened to spec?

What would cause this?

Advertisement

speedster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 03:01 PM   #2
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,674
Rewards Points: 2,650
Default

New 200 Amp Breaker box make noise


Assuming your incoming power is tight at the lugs....sounds like you may have a bad main breaker....it happens....

If new, I would replace it.....

Advertisement

__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 04:57 PM   #3
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

New 200 Amp Breaker box make noise


You can also check the bolts that attach the main breaker to the bus.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 12:37 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 294
Rewards Points: 258
Default

New 200 Amp Breaker box make noise


I checked the tightness of the lugs and the breaker and they were fine. So I replaced the main breaker with a new one and it works perfectly. Afterwards, I was inspecting the breaker that I removed and noticed a stink bug in the space between the break and the copper bracket that bolts to the bus. So I'm wondering if that sizzle could have been the stink bug being fried?
speedster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Added new breaker, no garage lights now. lum1nes Electrical 8 08-04-2012 08:50 PM
breaker keeps tripping RMCarner Electrical 29 07-22-2012 10:53 AM
Separate 110 and 220 receptacles on 2-pole 220 V Square D GFI breaker sunrise Electrical 1 05-13-2012 08:27 PM
Outside breaker, inside main breaker panel, so is it a sub? CPF Electrical 29 02-01-2012 11:28 AM
Is it possible to change Circuit breaker to Buss fuse socket type? njchen24 Electrical 8 08-07-2011 07:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts