Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2007, 12:52 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

New 20-amp Circuit - line noise causing TV/PC Monitor lines


Hi all,

I just installed a new 20-amp circuit dedicated to our bedroom upstairs. I have installed 2 receptacles on the circuit.

Just to cover what I did:
The first receptacle has the panel-fed hot wire on the top right brass, and the panel-fed neutral to the top left silver.

A second line from the first receptable is feeding from the bottom right brass hot wire and bottom left silver neutral to the 2nd receptacle, 1st recep-fed hot wire on top right brass, 1st recep-fed neutral wire on top left silver.

The main line from the 1st receptacle is going down about 20 feet to our basement panel, hot wire going into a 20-amp breaker, and the neutral going into the neutral bus, and ground going into the ground bus.

The receptacles function and give power, but they give substantial interference to my TV and my computer monitor.

I have confirmed that there is no interference nearby - I plugged the devices into our old circuits and the interference isn't there. The old circuit is only 5 feet from the new circuit on the same wall - the PC and the TV are in the same position when I am plugging them in to either circuit.

Does anyone have any idea why this is happening?

Thank you very much for your time.

- Rompegato


edit: Just to confirm: yes, both receptacles are 20-amp.. Thank you.


Last edited by Rompegato; 05-28-2007 at 12:57 AM.
Rompegato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 07:02 AM   #2
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

New 20-amp Circuit - line noise causing TV/PC Monitor lines


This could be a long shot, but check to make sure the ground (bare) wire isn't contacting the side screws of either of the new receptacles.
You can also use an extention cord to plug the TV into some other circuits in the house to see if the probem still happens.

BTW, you can use 15 amp receptacles on a 20 amp circuit, as long as you have 2 or more on the circuit, but 20 amp is certainly fine.

__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2007, 08:19 AM   #3
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,539
Default

New 20-amp Circuit - line noise causing TV/PC Monitor lines


Also, double check all your connections. A loose connection can cause the problems you cite.
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM
high pitch noise coming from oil line pingers7 HVAC 2 11-29-2006 07:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.