New 2 Electricity...... - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2008, 09:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new 2 electricity......


Hello alll I know by law in the UK you gotta have a qualified electrician for minor works but to be honest I cant afford 1. I am not 'dumb' and do know about safety and all I want to do is change a light in my front room however I have run into a lil bump.

the wires hangin from my ceiling are.....

currently theres 3 power cables with 3 sets of the following hanging out all together in groups of the following,

Red wire
Black wire
Earth wire.

now i know that is old wiring as nowdays its blue brown.......

the light id like to fit has 2 terminals on the back being live and neutral and a earth.

i need help on knowing how to connect it up. I do have a switch in the room and behind the switch the only wire screwed into it is the red wire.
when i seperate the black wires none of the lights on that floor work.

can someone hlp please!!!!!!!!!!!1 thank you.

Advertisement

MRTOWNDRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 11:55 PM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

new 2 electricity......


Quote:
Originally Posted by MRTOWNDRO View Post
Hello alll I know by law in the UK you gotta have a qualified electrician for minor works but to be honest I cant afford 1. I am not 'dumb' and do know about safety and all I want to do is change a light in my front room however I have run into a lil bump.

the wires hangin from my ceiling are.....

currently theres 3 power cables with 3 sets of the following hanging out all together in groups of the following,

Red wire
Black wire
Earth wire.

now i know that is old wiring as nowdays its blue brown.......

the light id like to fit has 2 terminals on the back being live and neutral and a earth.

i need help on knowing how to connect it up. I do have a switch in the room and behind the switch the only wire screwed into it is the red wire.
when i seperate the black wires none of the lights on that floor work.

can someone hlp please!!!!!!!!!!!1 thank you.
The first question is: why did you separate all of the wires? You should have only removed the wires that were attached to the fixture. What it sounds like is you have one cable bringing power in, one taking it elsewhere and one cable that goes to the switch.

You need to get a continuity tester that can tell you which cable goes to the switch before going further.

Advertisement

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 06:39 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new 2 electricity......


Hi thanks for the reply,

i had to take the wires out as the connection was a plastic connector box but to it looked very badly done and all over the place so i wanted to clean up the wiring. O dear i dont own a tester um is there anyother ways you can help me? the switch behind it the wires are blakc and red but the only one connected to it is red.
MRTOWNDRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 12:21 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

new 2 electricity......


Quote:
Originally Posted by MRTOWNDRO View Post
Hi thanks for the reply,

i had to take the wires out as the connection was a plastic connector box but to it looked very badly done and all over the place so i wanted to clean up the wiring. O dear i dont own a tester um is there anyother ways you can help me? the switch behind it the wires are blakc and red but the only one connected to it is red.

Red is connected to the switch? That should be the hot. Can you take a pic of both boxes?
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 08:53 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

new 2 electricity......


You've only got one wire connected to the switch? Obviously one of the wires came off when you pulled the switch out, or it would not have been working before.

A continuity tester is not expensive.
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electricity to barn Sherdogmma2010 Electrical 12 09-05-2008 07:29 PM
Electricity use 60 inch LCD vs 35 inch CRT? Changeling Home Theater 5 06-22-2008 10:10 AM
No electricity after turning breaker back on! Need sage advice! safeTfirst Electrical 2 06-15-2008 04:58 PM
Old A/C use more electricity than old A/C? clue89 Electrical 4 03-02-2007 05:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts